We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TLC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fota Island Spa

Fota Island Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Spas & Wellness in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fota Island Spa at Fota Island Resort offers a great range of treatments and facilities. The facilities include a swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool and steam rooms. Treatments offered include beauty treatments, massages and facials.
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“TLC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a joy to visit this resort - very friendly staff and felt great after leaving same. Will be back again in the near future

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and the public.

We are very proud of our world-class facilities such as the golf course and spa. Our staff takes pride in providing a welcoming and personal service as it makes them happy to be part of a guests relaxing stay. I will pass your feedback on to our team.


Kind regards,

John O' Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    13
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
niamh73
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous, our suite was absolutely amazing, so luxurious! The food in the restaurant was lovely and there was entertainment in the bar afterwards which was great! I would definitely stay there again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. It gives me great pleasure to read your kind comments.

I will pass your feedback on to our members of staff, especially the chefs, as they will be delighted to hear that their work is appreciated by you.

All of us here at Fota Island Resort hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John O' Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Spa in Fota Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is one of the best spas I have been at. Great sized pool but you have to indulge is all the theats that follow like whirlpools, sauna etc. Great to finish off in the curved chairs in the relaxing room. You can easily spend a half day there. Gym there as well. Enjoy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat1955021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience. I am always pleased to hear when someone has enjoyed the use of all the exceptional facilities Fota Island Spa have to offer.

All of us at Fota Island Resort and Spa hope to welcome you again in the near future to provide you with an even better experience. You are more than welcome to visit our Restaurant and try the delicious Afternoon Tea.

Kind regards,

John O' Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A most relaxing time at Fota Island Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the Fota Island Hotel and Spa for 2 nights in July. We went to the Spa for a July 1 hour special treatement and use of the facilities. A great experience. Quiet, relaxing, peaceful environment, absolutely lovely staff and the treatments were top class. A lovely treat of yoghurt, juice and fruit awaits you when you leave the treatment room and you are brought to a relaxation area. The hydro suite is also really good with strong water jets and relaxing walk through pool area fo tired legs!

Highly recommending this spa! Came away relaxed and enjoyed every moment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTheWorld21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. It gives me great pleasure to read your kind comments.

I will pass on your feedback to all the spa therapists as they are always delighted to hear that their work is being appreciated and that they were part of making your day at Fota Island Spa such an exceptional experience.

Your feedback will be passed on to all members of staff as they are always delighted to hear that their work is being appreciated and that they were part of making your stay such an exceptional one.

Kind regards,

John O' Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was a little let down by my experience at Fota Spa. The grounds are lovely and the staff was friendly. I enjoyed the heated tile chair in the prep room prior to the massage and the lounger in a room with a beautiful natural view afterwards. I was there for a neck and shoulder massage to relieve a headache and the service was a less than average experience. I am used to a much stronger pressure massage and this experience just didn't deliver even after asking for more pressure. I didn't push it after a few requests and thought that perhaps my expectations were outside of what the service was to offer. If I were to go back, and I would give it another go, I would spend more time up front talking about what I wanted to ensure that is what I would be getting. If felt like a lot of money for a pretty weak service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsMc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotaisland01, General Manager at Fota Island Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy one of our massages. Our therapists take great care and pay the utmost attention to all of our clients. All the massages we offer are very popular treatments which we receive positive feedback on. I am sorry this was not your experience.

I hope to welcome you to Fota Island Resort again soon to show you all the great service and facilities we are known to provide.

Kind regards,

John O'Flynn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fota Island Spa also viewed

 

Been to Fota Island Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing