We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of THE THOMOND BAR

THE THOMOND BAR
Ranked #63 of 633 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: TOP CLASS IRISH FOOD IRISH STEW BACON AND CABBAGE GREAT VALUE
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We visit Thomond Bar regualry since we arrived in Cork a couple ago. Warm welcome, fantastic food (I love this roasted Chicken) and great staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertniederer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    83
    24
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stumbled upon The Thomond Bar on our first night in Cork and we were not disappointed. The food was lovely. There was a singer in the bar who was very good and created a great atmosphere. We went back 2 days later and were happy again. My husband sampled the Beamish which he said was great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Having lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

When to cork for a day trip with my friends and decide to go into Thomond bar for lunch but to my surprise it wasn't anything i thought it would be the stuff we nice but i when we got a table we were waiting 15 minutes to be served and another half a hour to be fed, when the food came it was hot, it was ok. The experience my friends and i wasn't pleased at all. even the table next to us were giving out and the waiting time but we do understand that it was a Saturday but we could have be told that there would be a waiting time then sitting at our table not nothing when our food would have come along.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulwalshcork, General Manager at THE THOMOND BAR, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
we are very disappointed to hear that your visit was not what you expected and that you experienced a long waiting time on a Saturday which is our busiest day of the week but this leaves no excuse and you should have been told that by staff whom are trained to let people know the waiting period .....we find that people when upset or not happy with a meal they wait until they leave to complain on public forms which we in turn find very disappointing as it does not offer us the chance to rectify the problem, but we would like you to contact us before you come back to cork and we would like you to return to the Thomond for a round of drinks on us ......I am not sure as to what country you are from by your broken English and if waterford is home but we do hope to see you again soon
regards
paul walsh
0852460335
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great staff, perfect for sports”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Was traveling solo and wandered in to watch the soccer games. Loads of TVs so no matter where you sat you were bound to have a good view of the game. Very nice and welcoming crowd. Always important to note that not only is the bar nice, but the people who frequent are as well. The staff was amazing. can't say enough good things about them. Bending over backwards to ensure that even tho the place was packed everyone received good service. Didn't eat so I can't rate the food, but my glass was never empty for long. After the game was over, the staff made a point to engage clients in conversation and as a girl traveling alone I appreciated that and the fact that they basically adopted me. I felt comfortable and safe. No creepers. The staff gave me loads of good advice on places to go, how to travel about, other good bars and places to eat in the local area. Very nice people! Great experience and will certainly return to give them my business again the next time I'm in Cork.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Awesome bar, great bar food, great staff. Wish I had found this place earlier in our time in Cork. Love the rugby memorabilia, and with myself wearing an UIster top, I got given a full size Irish Rugby flag. AWESOME :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MantassNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE THOMOND BAR also viewed

Cork, County Cork
 

Been to THE THOMOND BAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing