We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nandos as we know it”
Review of Nando's

Nando's
Ranked #376 of 644 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kilkenny
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not nandos as we know it”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped off here for a quick bite and a rest. We spotted Nandos and thought we had arivede in heaven as we have been at Nandos before and loved it. The staff were friendly when we arrived, we got a nice table and we put in our order for a meal platter for two. As we have eaten at Nandos in Austrailia and UK and other countries we expected some nice chicken. THe chicken we got was just plain irish chicken withsauce poured over it unlike the marinaded chicken in other proper nandos. POrtions were ok, but we had one issue with non fizzy coke and sprite.we did complain and they informed us the gas had to be changed which they promptly did.Overall expensive for what we got.Chicken was not proper nando standard,Wont be going back. For those who want real nandos in ireland try swords

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildIrishRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    32
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not much to say about this one the food was ok but would not be rushing back for it.
It's chicken after all and very very small chickens at that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isaacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

First time eating in nandos. Food was nice and portion size was adequate. The emergency service personal discount is an enticement also. Its handy to get food there before hitting the cinema or after a day shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get...”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Nando's restaurants the length and breadth of the country, I recently visited Mahon Point to check out what was on offer. We ended up visited twice over the course of the weekend and I was satisfied on each occasion. The staff were helpful, friendly and we were served quickly on each occasion.

The restaurant is more spacious then some of the other Nandos' in Ireland and I appreciated this as I hate having ppl sat basically on top of me while I eat.

Would recommend a feed here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kavo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“micro portions”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a quick bite here recently.Staff are lovely and friendly and the setting is nice.I had chicken breast and fries which was nicely cooked with coleslaw on the side which comes in a separate ramekin dish.The portions here are exceptionally small and I ended up with a plate of bones.It could have been a great meal if the portions were bigger,and I would not hesitate to pay extra for the privilege.Overall a nice place for a snack,but if you are hungry try elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing