We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Ticks all the right boxes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bru Bar and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bru Bar and Hostel
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Auckland
1 review
“Wow!! Ticks all the right boxes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

I don't normaly do reviews but this place Rocked! Clean bright hostel, just been painted and refurbed apparently. Awesome staff who let you roll however you wish and sent us in all the right directions. We partied untill 4am 3 days in a row in the bar which was the best saloon style bar I've been in outside NZ. Rugby team from Spain there families there and everyone got on, strangely. This place just seemed to do all of the important things right. The rooms are small but it's city center. We had a family with kids in the room next to us and they didn't give out to us about noise (although I'd say they were the understanding type!). Free internet and wifi. Breakfast was basic,cereal, toast, tea and coffee but for 15euro you get what you pay for, yeah?

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rucksack6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruhostel, Owner at Bru Bar and Hostel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Hi, You know a good place and time when you see one obviously! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    83
    74
    30
    32
See reviews for
6
25
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

This is one of the first hostels I've stayed in, and now that I look back I'm realizing even more how bad it was...the room was the narrowest I'd been in- there was about 3 feet between the beds and the other wall. Bar right downstairs, was loud the whole night (I'm used to sleeping through anything).

Location was pretty good and they did have a bathroom in the room (even though it was really dirty).

No breakfast included, felt more like a bar you could sleep above instead of a hostel.

Helpful?
Thank galwaygal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruhostel, Owner at Bru Bar and Hostel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Hi, Sorry the place wasn't up to standard for you. Maybe if you had of stayed in other hostels ours may not have looked so bad! We have always provided a free breakfast of cereal toast tea and coffee, sorry you missed it! We clean our bathrooms daily so once again, apologies if this wasn't up to your standard. Glad you were happy with the locastion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Nice, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

really good bar with a good atmosphere ....

Helpful?
Thank gethy06
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bru Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bru Bar and Hostel

Property: Bru Bar and Hostel
Address: 57 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Brú Hostel, we pride ourselves on ensuring that a consistently high standard is maintained. A team of house keepers ensure that every inch of the hostel is maintained in a pristine condition. The least any hostel can provide is a comfortable bed and clean sheets but in addition, we also provide: * FREE high-speed Internet access/ WiFi * FREE breakfast * FREE bicycle storage * FREE luggage storage * Laundry service for €5! (Cheapest in Ireland) * Card phones * TV / DVD room * 10% discounts at various restaurants * 10% discounts at the major tourist attractions with Bru room key! * Discounted entry into Corks Top Nightclubs.We also have a full Bar/Pub check out our web page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bru Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing