We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bru bar and hostel”
Review of Bru Bar and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bru Bar and Hostel
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bru bar and hostel”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing place, great atmosphere. Make sure you find josh (kiwi) and grant (Aussie), great guys to hang out with. Saturdays have a free BBQ and punch, live music, it's a great day in cork. I'd come back here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    84
    78
    31
    33
See reviews for
7
27
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with 5 other friends in a 6 bed dorm. Very, very little room to move let alone get changed or anything else. Also, as the shower near our room didn't have any ventilation the steam stayed in the shower room so we basically had to get dried our dorm. Not very pleasant. Breakfast and staff seemed fine but I'd stay elsewhere if looking for a dorm in Cork. Our group stayed in various places throughout Ireland for the week we travelled and we all agreed this was the least pleasurable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Met some cool people here. Be warned, though, it is LOUD, especially on the weekends (having live bands 2 floors below your head will do that). Go for the 4-person rooms, they're nicer for not too much more money. Extremely comfortable beds. Safe (you have to change keys every 24 hours). Convenient location -- right across from bus station. Good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in a mixed dorm with a friend on a recommendation from a colleague. Definitely wouldn't go back there unless I was really stuck for a place to stay. Some of the staff were friendly, but the girl we seemed to strike most of the time was not so friendly and seemed very disinterested in being even remotely helpful. The website advertises a 10% discount for Kiwis and Aussies on presentation of a valid passport at check-in but when I asked about this (since I'm a Kiwi) I was told there was no such discount.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but it was noisy and stuffy. The bathroom door handle kept coming off and the shower door didn't close properly. The free breakfast was an added bonus but I couldn't pick up the free wifi.
If you're looking for a place where you can drink the night away in a bar and then stumble upstairs to bed then this is the place for you. Anything else and I suggest going elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czech_Countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Here on a stag, rooms awful, ok for a night but rooms of poor standard.

Wouldn't be in a rush back. Our room didn't ever have a place to hang our clothes up

Bunk bed. Very noisy outside. Bar seems grand. Didn't try food

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may0man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and three friends were looking somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay as we were going to a concert, we booked this as it was cheap. Great place in a great location and has a good mix of tourists everyone was welcoming and friendly. The staff were very friendly and helpful the hostel was clean and great value for money :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgeen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here in a dorm with an ensuite for a weekend in Cork. This place was great. Our room was clean and very comfortable and the wifi worked well. The staff were really helpful and it's in a great location. The bar downstairs has great deals and we didn't notice any noise from it when we eventually went off to bed. There are really good kitchen facilities too. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,545 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,035 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,459 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bru Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bru Bar and Hostel

Property: Bru Bar and Hostel
Address: 57 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Brú Hostel, we pride ourselves on ensuring that a consistently high standard is maintained. A team of house keepers ensure that every inch of the hostel is maintained in a pristine condition. The least any hostel can provide is a comfortable bed and clean sheets but in addition, we also provide: * FREE high-speed Internet access/ WiFi * FREE breakfast * FREE bicycle storage * FREE luggage storage * Laundry service for €5! (Cheapest in Ireland) * Card phones * TV / DVD room * 10% discounts at various restaurants * 10% discounts at the major tourist attractions with Bru room key! * Discounted entry into Corks Top Nightclubs.We also have a full Bar/Pub check out our web page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bru Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing