We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bru Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$158
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
River Lee Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
$150
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$141
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropole Hotel(Cork)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$131
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
46
87
85
34
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
87
85
34
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbru barbar downstairsprivate bathroomclose to the train stationgreat barlocation is greatwould stay againbeds were comfortablethe ground floorcraicpintpubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 290 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Located right across the river from the bus stand, the hostel is close to the city centre and also accessible by foot to attractions like the Cork Gaol. The rooms are small but comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen is large and well equipped for a hostel of this size. The hostel also offers cheap laundry service. The bar located in the ground floor of the hostel is very lively and gets filled with people in the evenings, The staff are very friendly and provide excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank san_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The only highlight of this place it that it is centrally located the rest leaves much to desire. The first shock was that we had to carry the lugguages for three stories as the place does not have a lift. Rooms are quite small and there is lack of space for luggage and the bathrooms and towel were very dirty highly stained . Breakfast facilities too small to accomodate all, ending with a really messy kitchen and of course lack of cleanliness. Just do not go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rendell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is highly centrally located and just across the bridge to Cork's city centre but it leaves much to desire. The hostel is part of a bar so it can become quite noisy during the night and quite awkward to pop in the hostel (especially with lugguage) on your first encounter since you have to do through the bar to access the hostel. It also has no lift facilities and indeed not ideal for a person with physical disability, though have a room (still not adequate) for such instances. Very uncomfortable to take up your luggage to your room.

Rooms are quite small and there is lack of space for luggage. Needs a good upgrade. Expected it to be of a better standard. Bathrooms and towel were quite filthy and highly stained and mismatched. Breakfast facilities too small to accomodate all, ending in individuals not opting to have breakfast at all...were like chicken trashing on food....nothing in order and lack cleanliness. Much to be desired.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMarieMalta_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was the second hostel I stayed at in my trip to Ireland. We stayed in a twin room ensuite.
The room was very small but it was clean. I didn't like that there was no outlet in the bathroom but that seemed to be that way in all accomodations. The bed was comfortable to sleep on (even though I didn't sleep that much) We didn't use the facilities so I can't review the kitchen or common area. The WiFi didn't really work that well but there were computers available to the guests. The staff were helpful and friendly especially Chris who was the late night employee of the hostel/bar. He kept the bar open for us since we were not rowdy or loud. He was accomodating and helpful with any questions we had during our stay. He helped us with our luggage when we checked out which he didn't need to do. He made our stay very pleasant which we walked away very happy in the log run.

Room Tip: Our twin ensuite was on the first floor which was helpful since there was no elevator and my luggage was broken.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed in hotels all over Ireland and they were excellent, this hotel was not! It was by far the worst.
1. staff were not friendly on arrival
2. stayed in 6 bed dorm - bunks overlapped each other as they had obviously jammed in as many bunks as possible into a small area.
3. ONE WHOLE WALL COVERED IN MOLD
4. mold all though the bathroom
5. sheets hadn't been cleaned - had hairs all though them
6. bathroom dirty with makeup smeared on the walls
7. saw the cleaners the next day - had obviously found some clothes people had left behind from sat night and were dividing up their finds between them - it was only sun morning and people could have returned asking for their lost belongings

8. tv room is nice but tv is old, has only one working channel and no remote

Was really disappointed with this hostel - even though we paid the £16 a night I felt ripped of at how dirty our room was. We stayed in cheaper hostels which were much nicer. Don't stay here if you don't have to!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here - if so - inspect room to make sure you don't get a room covered in mold.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews