We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class...”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A touch of class...”
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I have stayed in a lot of the Cork city hotels, and this one is now top of my list by a mile. If what you’re looking for is exemplary hospitality and service, and a real taste of old fashioned charm and splendour then this is the place for you.
Admittedly, my room was a little snug, mainly due to the large solid pieces of furniture, but the room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the temperature of the room adjustable, and the bathroom was spacious, clean and bright.
Staff were incredibly friendly and professional, not just Reception / Concierge, but also in the delightful Brasserie, and in the spacious and elegant bar. The food in the Pembroke Restaurant was really excellent, and had discreet and polite service to match.
In this hotel, it is the small touches that add up to make it a great stay – for example the treat size Aveda Spa products in the bathrooms, and the toast being wrapped in a napkin to keep it warm if you get breakfast in your room.
Location wise, it cannot be faulted – 60 seconds and you’re in the heart of the shopping area, and 5 minutes drive and you’re on the road to the airport. I'd Definitely recommend it, and look out for excellent internet discount rates.

  • Liked — Excellent service and attention to detail
  • Disliked — A bit too much furniture in the room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vaunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    619
    241
    135
    71
See reviews for
298
846
91
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed 4 nights at the Imperial from the 16th of Aug for a wedding in the main ballroom. Beautiful hotel with lovely entrance way, pub enclosed in the hotel on the left when u go in, with comfy couches and a real old irish feel to it, with a brasserie to the right for tea and scones etc.
Staff helpful on an individual basis but didn't seem to communicate to each other well. One would order us a taxi for the airport, then the next person on the desk we spoke to said we could afford to make it a later taxi, and then when it turned up someone else sent it away as it wasn't ordered for the original time in their log. Very confusing. Nice man on the counter tried to get the laundary to dry some wet clothes we had bought from London and the laundary room were very rude to him for even asking. U could see he wanted to help us but got no co-operation from anyone else.
Room lovely and bathroom very modern and very nice. Way too much furniture in the room made it feel quite small. Very warm but desk bought us a fan when we asked.
Location is great as u are right in the middle of Cork township and can wander behind the hotel to the main shopping street and found some awesome restaurants and real irish pubs.
Attended a wedding in the ballroom and had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food superb and wedding was very well catered for with all the guests very well looked after. Would def stay again.

  • Liked — Grand entrance and pub, restaurant and cafe all in the same building
  • Disliked — The spa were very unhelpful and not good value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Move some of the furniture out into the hallway!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SW+GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I made the choice to stay at this hotel after reading past reviews and checking out their website and for its location. The location did not disappoint being bang smack in the middle of town. The hotel itself was very promising on first sight with an impressive lobby and a number of choices for sitting and having a coffee/sticky bun/drink.

We were early for check in but fair play to the receptionist, they found us a room and one of the party checked in allowing us all to dump our bags. The room was adequate - not large, but everything provided (although there was no ironing board or iron contrary to the room inventory). The bathroom was good, with a nice tub (although no lighting over the bath and shower meant that this was a somewhat dingy corner) and lovely products provided.

My one complaint that soured the experience from the start however, was that the room smelled of cigarette smoke. As an asthmatic this is an issue for me and with the smoking ban in Ireland I found this surprising. I mentioned it to the bell hop who brought the bags up. He replied saying that the room was non-smoking and departed. I later rang reception and asked for someone to come and check the room. This was agreed and I waited 40 minutes before calling back to reception to inform them that no-one had shown up (and to request an ironing board be brought to the room). My concerns about the nasty odour in the room were conveniently ignored and an iron sumarily dispatched. I waited another hour before giving up.

It was disappointing. The two different receptionists to whom I spoke could have behaved differently, but they chose to ignore my concerns. No-one came to inspect the room and I was simply ignored. I would hesitate to recommend this hotel, which I find a great shame.

Helpful?
2 Thank Niffud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We only stayed one night at this hotel. The main floor is the best part of the hotel. The room we were assigned was very small and quite run down and not all that clearn. We were situated right next to the elevator and above the kitchen. It was quite noisy. The hotel offered the internet but it was not working, and did not work at all while we were there. The staff showed no interest in getting it to work. The bar in the hotel was really beautiful and the wait staff in the bar was friendly and efficient. We had dinner and breakfast at this hotel, staff was a little rushed but the food was very good.

I would have rated this hotel higher if the room was a better.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sageann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed in the Imperial (2 couples, 30 somethings!!) for a 2 night break recently. Everything about the stay was above average from the choice and quality of food, the great bar and the really well appointed and comfortable rooms. We were in the new block where the rooms are, I believe, a bit bigger then in the older part of the hotel.
The staff were great and this has to be the best located hotel in the city. All in all well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing