We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Imperial is right in the heart of Cork so we found it to be the best location to explore the city, close enough to everything to pop back in to the room for a rest or freshening up before going out in the evening. Old world charm or classical style, this is the best combination of words to describe the hotel. It's old and it has charm. This is not the style we choose for our own home but we definitely do enjoy it in hotels. We really loved the building even if our room was "listing to port" (see photo), it was very spacious and neat, with "real" furniture even including an extra single bed and a sofa bed! The shower room was a bit on the tiny side but it was refurbished and clean but maybe missing a few towel rails to hang towels. However, we only paid for the night so we can't comment on the eating aspect, but it must be said that all common areas of the Hotel looked fantastic. Only one thing was a bit of a dampener, and it isn't really the hotel's fault. The very famous and popular Crane Lane Theatre pub is right next to the hotel and they have live music EVERY NIGHT of the year from around half eleven in the evening onwards. So if your room looks onto Pembroke Street, take some earplugs if you’re a light sleeper or join the party across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the South Mall maybe (vehicle) noisy during the day but will quiet down in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Elsatrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Elsa T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel recently.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I will take on board your comments about the bedroom and we shall replace the missing towel rail immediately.

At the moment we are in the process of sound proofing all our bedrooms on the Pembroke Street side of the hotel, this will elleviaite the noise from the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Cork area.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our second stay in the Imperial Hotel. My husband & I stayed here over the Easter weekend. We’re living in Cork but wanted a relaxing/city weekend away where we didn’t have too far to travel as I’m 8 months pregnant. The Imperial can deliver on both. The hotel is beautiful, and has a lot of old charm. Our room was very spacious, very clean and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable.

Over our stay we enjoyed two bed & breakfast, one evening dinner and one afternoon tea. The standard of food presented at each course was really high quality and really tasty.

My main reason for writing this review is to compliment on the service we received from the staff throughout our stay, front of desk, wait staff, bar staff and the therapists in the Escape Spa, all delivered fantastic customer service, nothing was ever an issue and they were always more than happy to help. It will always be for that reason that we will return to a hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3saR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear 3saR,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel again over the Easter holidays.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on trip advisor. I will pass on your very favourable comments to the team who work so hard on a daily basis to meet with and exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcomming you back for a third visit very soon.

Best regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wonderful wonderful wonderful service from start to finish at the Imperial Hotel. We booked the private dining room the Duchess Room for our wedding reception of 14 guests, it's a beautiful, comfortable & elegant room, we had lovely food and very attentive, friendly and discreet service from the staff at the hotel. Best day of our lives and the hotel let us sit back and enjoy ourselves while they took care of everything! Thank you, we couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claarabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Claarabella,

Thank you for choosing the Imperial Hotel for your recent family wedding reception. We were delighted to look after you on your special day.

Here at the Imperial Hotel we have been making weddings special for nearly 200 years, and we pride ourselves on our family looking after yours.

Our team very much appreciaite your kind comments and we would like to wish Deirdre and Adrian both many years of health and hapiness together.

Best regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Having read other reviews on tripadvisor, I wasn't sure what to expect. What I found was a hotel in a prime location, the spa is 1st class and I would recommend anyone staying at the hotel to avail of it. An evening meal was included, which we took on our second night, but we also ate in the restaurants on our first night, from the earlybird menu. There were more choices on the earlybird menu than the set guest menu.
We had no need to book an alarm call either morning as I was woken by the housekeeping trolleys before 8

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Danny W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork and for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Aveda Spa here at the Hotel. I will take onboard your comments regarding the Pembroke Restaurant and the Accoomdation Department.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This some location for a hotel if you're on a weekend or holiday. You could not get it more central,30 seconds from shops restaurants bars and nite clubs. Rooms,spa and breakfast is genuinely top class, staff are very friendly and welcoming,rooms in great condition for a 200 yr old building which adds to the real atmosphere of the hotel. I'll will certainly return very soon.Great stay and great value and especially the bacon at breakfast!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bobby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Bobby E,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork and for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay with us and I will pass on these very favourable comments to the team.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed what Cork city has to offer in the vacinity of the Imperial Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked this for a business trip and the price was good. The location is excellent, with buses and shops all around, the restaurant and the services were good also. overall, a very pleasant stay and will do again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djamal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Djamel M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Imperial Hotel during your recent business trip to Cork.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Recomended by Trip advisor and Lonely Planet we choose the Imperial Cork. Grand Hotel style, fashionable and very popular with locals and visitors from around the globe. We got a very nice room, view to a side road. It was very quiet. This evening, WiFi did nort work. Think tey have to improve the System. Location in South Mall couldn't be better. 2 minutzes to Major shoppinmg and leisure Areas. Cork seems to be the Capital of very good Food in Ireland and due to 2005 Hosting cultural capital of Europe, lot's of Museums, galleries and theatres can be visited. But alos the City itself is very nice, higgh Standards and very clean. We had breakfast in the hotel's Restaurant, wihich was good, but not outstanding. Good Cappucino and good assotement ofg fresh fruits, very good bread. Reception was outstanding and very freindly. Restaurant staff could be more friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear reppi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed what Cork city has to offer - including all our many great tourist attractions and the excellent restaurants on offer in Cork City. In Cork we pride ourseleves on being the food capital of ireland!

I will take on board your comments regarding the wi fi in the hotel and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again at the Imperial Hotel the next time you are back in the Cork area.

Best wishes,

Anne O'Leary,
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,597 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $138 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing