We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Imperial Hotel is well located in the heart of Cork Centre easy reach of everything. Its a well appointed hotel. Food is very good and staff are mainly professional. Bar staff came across as nailed to the floor as in paid pennies for long hours and little pay so they behaved accordingly. House keeping was good and this is a very nice hotel
WHAT LETS IT DOWN
The rooms are very well appointed and have plenty of space
Windows are locked down opens two inches would be better to let these open further and install appropriate 3 bars into the concrete for health and safety instead the room felt very closed in the middle of summer. Their maintenance is POOR nails sticking up out off the floor room 262 Two double electric sockets not working and broke never fixed long time .... Stairway to reception banisters broken and got the feel that they had no grip on keeping the hotel in good condition which is a pity as this Hotel has plenty of history from MR Collins. Finally private car parking but remember from 18-30pm daily parking out front free and all day Sunday they would have charged me for my 3 days if I had not coped on about the Sunday so I challenged them for why I need parking from Saturday evening and got credit back on my account a small thing but customer service should have told them to inform customer of best options i.e. pay Thursday and Friday two nights is all you need Sir
This is still a good hotel they just need to up there game and keep their four stars

Room Tip: check your parking arrangements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malachy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us both positive and negative.

I will personally make sure that the shortcomings you experienced in your room are addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cork and to the Imperial Hotel the near future.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

had a weekend away with my hubby, away from the kids. from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out the service we received was excellent. The bed was very comfortable, had a well deserved rest and room was spacious.Had dinner and breakfast which was brilliant.Loved the display of fresh flowers in the hotel. Thanks to the staff for making our break enjoyable.Also enjoyed the spa will be coming again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read your kind comments towards our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back after a lovely weekend in cork, stayed in the imperial hotel, lovely hotel perfect location, food was great and staff very friendly. Had a lovely lunch on Saturday afternoon in souths bar, nice atmosphere there. Would definitely stay here again......!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived in a heat wave after flying to Cork from Newcastle. From the first minute at reception we had good feelings about this hotel, and we were right. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional. They went out of their way to help. The room was beautiful, though hot. Thankfully we were given a fan which was necessary because of the exceptional heat. The breakfasts were a lovely experience with the morning paper, excellent choice of food and lovely waiting staff who efficiently brought tea or coffee and cleaned away used pots very quickly. There was a wide choice of cereals, hot food, fruits, cheeses, pastries, breads and juices. The evening dinner was excellent with efficient service, good menu choice and quantity and quality of food. The ambience of the hotel was excellent with displays of fresh flowers in the hall, dining room and meeting rooms.

We were on a package with bed and breakfast, one evening dinner, one lunch at the English Market, a walking tour and either a manicure or pedicure. Tremendous value.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and were not bothered by any traffic though occasionally we did hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Stranton,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel during your recent visit to Cork.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the hotel and we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next visit to Cork.

kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Older hotel; room is smaller than we have had in others on our trip through N. Ireland and Ireland. Tiles in shower towards the bottom look moldy...some broken. Absolutely no place on sink to place toiletries for the two of us, let alone one.. Very small elevator. Thank goodness we were on the 2nd floor and we could walk up and down. It was clean and that is very important to us. Yet another Irish hotel with no safe. and no air conditioning. We were here in the middle of the heat wave. It was horrible sleeping because you had to keep the window open [to let the warm air in--yikes]. Our room faced the street and the drunks were out at night. Then you had the garbage pickup at 6-7am. On Pembroke around 8:30pm we saw a guy poop on the street. Bed was lumpy. Spent two nights here and it was part of our tour group...could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank FaithPrevails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us both positive and negative.

Its unfortunate that you did not mention some of your shortcomings to us during your stay as we would have organised a room move and upgrade for you. We do endeavour to always have our guest leave happy and sometimes if annoyances are mentioned during a stay we can rectify a situation or a problem to keep our guests happy.

I hope that this not deter you from staying at our hotel as any guest requests can always be seen to. Thank you again for your feedback.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Imperial Hotel cork at the end of July 2013 with my mother. I chose a good hotel but was over all disappointed as this was way to warm with only a very inadequate fan. The room was very uncomfortable and you couldn't open the window due to the extreme noise from a pub on the street really don’t know how this noise is being level is being tolerated by the hotel, its way beyond any sort of acceptable levels and the management should really go further about this as this is now affecting your business. The hotel is lovely, clean with loads of history attached to it. I thought it strange that there was no real food being served other than chicken role from 3pm until 6pm!!! It’s a 4* hotel, comes on! The staffs are great here lovely local, people helpful and chatty, they have time for people. But the hotel is all fur coat and no knickers. You really need to read the comments being made on booking and follow that through. Its in a decent location but the map the hotel give you is an advertisement map hard to make out some of the street names, really folks this the basic, basic stuff get the maps from the tourist office and hand them out to people and stop this messing around I do really wonder who make these decision, it’s a small thing but I wasn't staying long and had a lot to do before I left. Big tip check out the Cork Art Theatre, off Camden Quay opposite the opera house,(http://www.corkartstheatre.com/) I seen their production of Moll and it was fantastic great night out, its good value for money and well entertaining unlike the hotel. Sorry for being so negative but I was really disappointed and really would consider here again, there are better value for money offering the same discomfort.
No safe in room.
so to recap:
1. Get on to the dep't of environment re music level.( (Section 108) of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act (Noise) Regulations 1994 (SI No. 179 of 1994). )
2. Proper map of cork to hand out to people ie similar to the one from the tourist office.
3. Exceptional weather i know but you need to get a contract with some one who can give you proper air-conditioning after all people are paying for the room.
4. all day breakfast/burger/fish n chips all day. one of the three pref the burger
best of luck!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpainDunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us both positive and negative.

I think that your heading of this review is inappropriate for the review itself. As with all feedback we endeavour to learn form it and put best practice in place. It is unfortunate that you did not highlight your shortcomings during your stay with us as we could have put things right for you.

We do provide substantial meals throughout the day in our restaurants and can always provide items not on the menus to our guests at their requests.

I hope that this does not deter you from staying here at the Imperial Hotel as I know we can deliver a better experience to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Imperial Hotel and getting the opportunity to showing you a more positive overall experience.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently attended the Bruce Springsteen show in Pairc Ui Chaoimh and we decided to stay (for the 5th time) in the imperial. The fact that we've chosen the imperial on 5 seperate visits to Cork should be enough to let you konw that we can't fault the imperial.

We arrived well before the check-in time as we wanted to avoid any traffic on the road in to the city. Our bags were taken from us and stored by the concierge and we were then given our car park access so that we could take a walk around and soak up the pre-gig atmosphere in the city.

We returned to the hotel around 3 to complete our check in and our bags were already in our room. We had requested a specific room for our stay so it was great to see the hotel take note of this. We got to the room and although there was no air conditioning, which we were aware of, there was an additional fan placed in the room which came in pretty handy.

We had lunch in the bar before heading to the gig and the food was great as always. It was also great to see that the hotel was still serving fish & chips when we got back at 2 in the morning after what can only be described as the best night in Cork that we've had. The city center was absolutely hopping and the atmosphere was great.

On both mornings we had out buffet breakfast, hot and well needed and found that the restaurant staff were helpful and very friendly. We took a road trip to Cobh (only 30 minutes out the road) and settled in for dinner that evening in the Pembroke restaurant.

Once again, the food was fantastic. We didn't feel rushed and we were allowed to enjoy our meal which was a change from our stay 18 months ago when we had a particularly pushy waitress who made us feel very uncomfortable. However, that was dealt with 18 months ago by the management.

Overall, this was a great mid-week break for us and we look forward to our 6th stay in the imperial whenever that may be. Let's wait and see who's in the Pairc next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawk4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Yes, Cork was rocking for the Springsteen concert, it was a fantastic event and one that we hope will return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cork in the near future. Keep it rocking.

regards
Joe Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $137 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing