We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub and lovely grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Oval Bar

Mount Oval Bar
Ranked #187 of 633 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rochestown
Cork
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely pub and lovely grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a living social voucher and headed up to the Mount Oval on Monday after work.
I loved the look of the pub, old style dark wood few tellys around the place....

We had a choice of burgers and a glass of wine or beer.
We both got beef burgers and they were lovely, homemade and the burger bun was lovely fresh and soft, cme with a nice salad and some peppered sauce.
my only issue and it's really just a personal thing is the chips they were just your run of the mill frozen bar food chips, they were fine though I just think a little effort on that front would make a big difference.

Our little fella had a baby bowl served with a lovely gravy which he mangled.

The staff were very nice and very good.

The menu had lots on it and it was all very reasonably priced.

Slightly off the beaten track but I would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJP_Mumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice location for lunch . Food was nice portion sizes are really big though . Menu had loads of variety on it and it was reasonably priced .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will return, lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited recently for Sunday lunch using a gift voucher. Good selection on the menu. Very impressed with food for all in our group including kids and Granny. Must say the staff were extremely warm helpful and friendly, very accommodating and willing to substitute items on our voucher without quibble. Its the small touches like this that make a visit enjoyable to any establishment. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank yugscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“cant beat an after match meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

a beautiful meal served by great staff. lovely place for a sunday afternoon out. the place was buzzing with a full crowd .great place to watch the match

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattheplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I often go here for pub grub and I have never been disappointed. They have alovely menu to choose from and great value.Lovely atmohsphere if you want to watch a match on TV or just relax having your food. Alway great service and helpful staff. They also a great function room off the bar if you need to have a party of just lunch for a large number of people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GWBeeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Oval Bar also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Mount Oval Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing