We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Average and at the end a little rude.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yuan Ming Yuan

Yuan Ming Yuan
Ranked #32 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Was previously called Starvast but has undergone renovations and a name change recently
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Average and at the end a little rude.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our last night in Cork was spent here, the food wasn't anything to write home about and definitely not the best Chinese I've ever tasted. Our local take away serves food three times as nice. The soup was ok but not overly tasty, the mixed starter was again just ok - chicken rubbery and parcels a little greasy, the mains were salty and beef a little tough. We spent the rest of our night drinking water. To top it off as we came to the end of our meal and I do not joke - the waitress came to my partner with a tissue and suggested she wiped her face as she was perspiring! My partner a 6ft tall, slim sports coach wasn't and the waitress had spotted the glow of her makeup and the reflection of the candle on the table. But what a strange thing to do, we left somewhat disappointed after finding them as the top rated Chinese in Cork on tripadvisor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichEyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    82
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Only out of the ordinary Chinese in Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've eaten in this restaurant quite a few times now and taken plenty of people there - all of whom have been impressed. Ten of us dined there last night and everybody was happy.
For me what stands out is their dim sum menu (like a Chinese Tapas menu). It is all made in-house rather than bought in frozen and stands up with any dim sum I've had in China town in London, Paris or Amsterdam. They have most of the standard 'Western Chinese' dishes for those so inclined but also many interesting hot pots and the like for anyone intrested in trying something a little different. The food here isn't challenging - it's just far more interesting and varied than any other Chinese restaurant in Cork.
Service is always friendly and efficient and the prices are reasonable.A lot of work has also gone into the decor since Starvast was there - a lot of dark wood with all sorts of Chinese symbolism - quirky but comfortable.
I'd especially recommend this place for anyone who has eaten 'Western Chinese' and has come to the conclusion that it is all rubbish. Try here but if you order sweet and sour chicken and chips don't expect it to be remarkably different to s&s chicken anywhere else - explore the menu, try some dim sum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Black_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best chinese restaurants i've ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went here for lunch and it was amazing, the starters and the main course. Portions were good sizes, service was brilliant and it was amazing value for what we got. It has a central location so it's easily accessible and well worth the visit, will definitely return next time i'm in Cork.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeefaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Chinese restaurants anywhere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Certainly one of the best Chinese restaurants in Cork - one of the best in Ireland!!

After living in Hong Kong for longer than I'd care to admit, have to say this is one of the best Chinese restaurants we have ever enjoyed in this part of the world.

It's a big favourite for our family where we regularly return and end up very nostalgic about our time in the Far East with the food and setting so authentic...!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuruRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Chinese in Cork.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My first visit. I have visited a well know local Chinese competitor on many occasions and have recently been disappointed so needed a change.
I was not disapointed here. All the dishes we ordered were superb. Definitely the best Chinese I have had in Cork and much cheaper than it's competitors.
If you want a Chinese in Cork this is the pace to go.

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuan Ming Yuan also viewed

 

Been to Yuan Ming Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing