We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chinese Restaurant”
Review of Yuan Ming Yuan

Yuan Ming Yuan
Ranked #44 of 650 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Was previously called Starvast but has undergone renovations and a name change recently
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great menu - very reasonable. Lovely food. Excellent staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank IrishGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    84
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best chinese in cork.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good food, good prices and good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best for value and quality”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our second visit and our second review.
We have been to most of the Chinese Restaurants in Cork and without doubt YMY is a step above all of them. The decor is really fabulous and helps with the overall atmosphere in the place. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The food is fantastic and offers you the chance to try dishes you wont get anywhere else in Cork and equally important now is that it is fantastic value for money.
14 of us went for Sunday lunch and everyone had a great meal and everyone said they would be back.

If you are looking to go for a Chinese meal or on any night out I couldn't recommend the place high enough.

I've seen a couple of bad review of the place and I've seen all the positive reviews, all I can say is try the place and you wont be disappointed

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJP_Mumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best In Cork”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We went here for my 40th birthday with a group of friends. The food is absolutely wonderful with the greatest variety of choice i have ever seen. As well as chinese they have european dishes too, my friend got salmon and said it was the most delicious she had ever tasted. The staff are professional, attentive and super friendly. The price was super, really good value, nearly cheaper than some take-aways and better quality. The decor is supreme and the atmosphere great, lovely music in the background and best of all we could actually have a conversation compared to some noisy places. Please go because it is the best place in Cork.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Excellent food, great choice and very friendly staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuan Ming Yuan also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Yuan Ming Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing