We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken creole”
Review of K.C's

K.C's
Ranked #88 of 642 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Douglas
Cork - Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chicken creole”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have been going for a munch here for many years. Chicken creole is a must have. There chips are fine, not the best out there, but the garlic mayonnaise with them are unreal. I highly recommend a visit, a real cork tradition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MurphyCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    49
    38
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having grown up in Cork and back for a visit after 5 years I could not wait to go to KC for Chips and Curry. Having queued up in a very long line I was excited at the prospect of my chips and curry. I was disappointed after that long wait. Small portions and not that chipper taste that I had remembered. But judging by the long line of people that queue here every day I must be the minority

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is 100 times better than Lennox's ... Seriously!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I ate here for the first time in the last two weeks. I would often see people queuing outside and I just couldn't understand it. That is until I tried the food. Absolutely beautiful!! I returned within the week. Where were you all my life!?!?!

The menu is extensive with items you wouldn't find on the Lennox menu in a million years. Items like Philly Cheese-steak is one example.

If KC's handed out samples of their food outside Lennox's they would close them overnight. I hope they don't though cos the queue would get longer in KC's and that's not good!

I love this place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best take-away meal to be had in Ireland.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been a customer here for years and I always come back. An interesting menu with some great flavour combinations. Great value for money. Fantastic sides and additional options and a rotating guest pita to keep you on your toes with new taste experiences. The que is always worth it, in fact, the que has become part of the ritual. Amazing food. You must try if you are in Cork. First timers should order off the pita menu. Yum.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only place where i would pay to queue ..”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The build up to kcs is part of the experience , should I wait or not.. Never once have I heard anybody complain about the wait ( up to a half hour at times ).. Well worth the wait ..it's fast food , but with a good dash of humor and a tried and tested formula of giving the people what they want and need ..

Being able to give your customers all the above says a lot .. Perfection is a step away

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K.C's also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to K.C's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing