We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Found this Guesthouse hard to find due to the fact there was no number for the road. The road is one way so once you have found it the chances are you will have to turn around again especially if you have to park out the back.
Apart from those little problems it was very comfortable and our host was very obliging. Our room was up a few flights of stairs which may be difficult for elderly people. It was beautifully presented with a lovely bathroom.
Breakfast was good and we had a chance to wlk into the city before checkout.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs request a room on the lowest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    44
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
127
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
295 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We felt as though we were living in an alternate universe from others who had stayed here and commented unfavorably. I will agree that rooms are rather small, but they are beautifully furnished (if not to everyone's taste) and carefully maintained. Our room (#6) had ample storage allowing us to unpack and stow everything including our luggage. Perhaps smaller rooms do not afford the same advantage.

We were warmly greeted by Mary, our hostess, who was extremely gracious and helpful giving us good recommendations of places to go, ordering taxis, etc.

The Irish breakfast was beautifully prepared and plentiful enough to fuel us until dinner. The service was well choreographed and food served timely. I will say we opted to eat at 8am which may have afforded us better service.

We paid 99E/night which may be considered high, but I find hotels in Ireland to be overpriced anyway.

The location is a ways from the City Center but an easy walk in 10 minutes. Take advantage of the nearby University College of Cork and stroll through it's remarkably beautiful campus. It's a botanist's dream!

In conclusion I have travelled extensively and am quite critical about lodgings, but there's little I can say to fault Blarney Stone Guesthouse. Not sure what other's expectations were.

Room Tip: Room #6 is the largest room and beautifully appointed. However, it faces south (and a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a Triple room and a double room. The rooms were very cramped we didnt have enough space for any of our bags and it really was a stretch fitting in 3 people. The breakfast was quite nice but did take a very long time to come for some of the people in our group! The b&b was really close to town so that was good. It was ok but I wouldnt stay there again as it was the most expensive b&b on our whole trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyekyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Room we occupied was tiny but nice, ensuite was small and cramped. Wall's very thin could hear full conversations from next room ( just talking). The website is very misleading. The breakfast was like something out of faulty towers we were ignored for 40 minutes, then we were at a dirty table, everyone was getting the wrong meals, the lady serving was a joke appeared to be confused. We finally had to leave as we had an appointment none of us got breakfast even thou we were sitting in the breakfast room for over 45 mins. On Check out the owner treated us disgracefully when we complained about the poor service, upsetting myself and my partner. The guesthouse was completely over priced. It's far from 4* accommodation and generally a horrible experience. Definitely wouldn't recommend.Worse place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ruthieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We arrived at dinner time and received no welcome, just "You're last to check in, your rooms upstairs." We were handed a ket. Our room was so small and cramped we actually laughed. The phone in the room was connected to nothing !!! We could find no one to help us. We had to wash in the basin as the shower was broken. The breakfast was like something out of faulty towers with everyone getting the wrong meals and at the wrong tables at different times. The only person who seemed to be trying was the poor Polish girl who looked terrified and overwhelmed. No maps or advice on where to go or what to do. No warm Irish welcome a huge disappointment for our first impression of Ireland. So many other places to stay, I can't imagine why this place had good ratings as thats why we picked it. On this occasion Trip Advisor let us down. Give this place a big miss.

Room Tip: No idea, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Notafusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place to stay when in Cork. Friendly staff, very warm and welcoming, the breakfast is great too. Close enough to walk to the city centre. The rooms were quaint and very comfortable. Would definately recommend and would stay there again when I'm in Cork next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We felt like royalty throughout our stay. The entire house is decorated to a very high standard in a truly gorgeous manner, with gorgeous antique furnishings and paintings blended with comfortable modern beds and showers.

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyed by both vegetarian and carnivore and the host was more helpful than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFinnXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,424 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Stone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Stone Guesthouse

Property: Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blarney Stone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blarney Stone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing