We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on every level.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing on every level.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We arrived at dinner time and received no welcome, just "You're last to check in, your rooms upstairs." We were handed a ket. Our room was so small and cramped we actually laughed. The phone in the room was connected to nothing !!! We could find no one to help us. We had to wash in the basin as the shower was broken. The breakfast was like something out of faulty towers with everyone getting the wrong meals and at the wrong tables at different times. The only person who seemed to be trying was the poor Polish girl who looked terrified and overwhelmed. No maps or advice on where to go or what to do. No warm Irish welcome a huge disappointment for our first impression of Ireland. So many other places to stay, I can't imagine why this place had good ratings as thats why we picked it. On this occasion Trip Advisor let us down. Give this place a big miss.

Room Tip: No idea, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Notafusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    49
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
139
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place to stay when in Cork. Friendly staff, very warm and welcoming, the breakfast is great too. Close enough to walk to the city centre. The rooms were quaint and very comfortable. Would definately recommend and would stay there again when I'm in Cork next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We felt like royalty throughout our stay. The entire house is decorated to a very high standard in a truly gorgeous manner, with gorgeous antique furnishings and paintings blended with comfortable modern beds and showers.

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyed by both vegetarian and carnivore and the host was more helpful than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFinnXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

A very handy, right on the edge of the City, family owned and run Guesthouse. Exceptionally clean and tidy, with every facility available. Large most comfortable rooms, relaxing sitting area.
Could not be better located for exploring the City and the nearby coast and countryside.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a lovely town house bed & breakfast across from University College Cork and a 7 minute walk into the city centre. The house is immaculate and my room was lovely, clean and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were obliging. I stayed one night and my bed was extremely comfortable. Traffic noise was minimal and I enjoyed a good night of sleep. I had parking right outside the front door and although space is minimal - there was room for 5 cars. I believe parking at the back is available as well but I can't confirm this. My only downside was that my room smelt heavily of cigarette smoke and this was not very nice during the night/morning. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. It would keep you going all day. I would recommend this accomodation to family/friends but I would prefer to see a much cheaper rate given the recessionary times we have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house and ensure you ask for a spacious room. Also they will do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettytrollop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Although 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre of Cork, this is an excellent place to stay. It's very friendly and everyone was helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. It's on a main road, but we were not aware of traffic noise during the night. The breakfast set us up for the day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We pre-booked the Blarney Stone Guesthouse on our 1st ever trip to Ireland based on recommendation in our travel guide as well as tripadvisor. Badly enough, we can't agree on the positive feedback given for this B&B. Firstly, a parking lot indicated at the back of the house could not be found by the roadsigns (although we made an extra round around the block), hence we decided to park in front in second row, filling the cramped space even more. Owner very briefly welcomed us by handing us the key to our room - third floor, and that was it! The room itself was clean, but very tiny - there was hardly enough room for our two suitcases. The shower taken next morning was good - but shortly after that, we happened to run out of water, both cold and warm! When we mentioned that to the staff serving breakfast, we were under the impression that she could hardly understand - may be she was from Eastern Europe and seemed not to be too familar w/ English language. The food itself was ok-ish - full Irish breakfast was good, but the Porridge was much too thin. Overall, we would decide for another place were we to travel to Cork again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silke-Joerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Stone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Stone Guesthouse

Property: Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blarney Stone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blarney Stone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing