We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!!”
Review of Kent House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kent House B&B
Ranked #9 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location, clean rooms and most importantly exceptional customer service and hospitality! My husband and I would like to thank John and Lorraine for being so nice and helpful to us. It was really nice to wake up in the morning to a delicious Irish breakfast and have a little chat and get suggestions and tips on a local sights and attractions. Highly recommend Kent House to everyone who plans on visiting Cork!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KianaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your time and great review you put up on Trip Advisor.
It is always a pleasure to read the reviews our guests leave for us.
It shows we are doing a good job and the service we offer is of a high standard and is appreciated by our guests.
We are glad all went well on your stay with us.
We hope you enjoyed Cobh.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Kent House, if you find yourself in Cork again.
Wishing you all the best in the future,

Kind Regards

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The best place to stay in cork i think.
We`ve been there 3 nights and didn`t want to leave in the end :-)
John and Lorraine are both very nice and helpfull. Always there for a little talk or some suggestions what to do.
The Room and the bathroom was awesome. We felt like little queens :-)
In the morning a great breakfast.
Im sure we will come back to the Kent House soon!
Patricia from Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pati B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We thank you for your review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was a pleasure having you.

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hi there,
I suppose to book into 2 different hotels but thankfully, both were fully booked for this weekend, as I have found a very nice and clean B&B just 1 minute away from the train station and only 10 minutes away from City. The B&B and the owners made our weekend very special! We had coffee/tea in the room, enough space in the family room we had and very clean! Breakfast was really nice, home made. There was home made read and oat cookies. Very rare to find such great and homely place. Definitiv coming back and will recommend it to my friend! THANK YOU FOR YOUR HOSPITALITY!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We thank you for your review, and we appreciate your kind comments.
We enjoyed our conversations and hope everything else went well for you.

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Arrived at Kent House and discovered that I had mistakenly made the reservation for the day before. Our hosts insisted that we go out for dinner while they added a rollaway bed for our daughter in the only room they had left. The bed was very comfortable. Imagine our surprise when the next morning they said they we owed them nothing since they had charged us as a know show the night before. I still can't believe that kind people like this exist. Add a great location , delicious breakfast and lots of advice about where to go locally and further ahead and this bed and breakfast is excellent. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review.
We hope the rest of your holiday was incident free, but enjoyable.

John & Lorraine Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Its close proximity to the train station and several grand hotels, restaurants, and pubs place Kent House B&B in an interesting and lively part of the city. My husband and I stayed for two nights, and were pleased to have Lorraine's good counsel on choices and directions. When you get out for a walk in the neighborhood and hear Lorraine's account of the history of the building, you find Kent House to be absolutely charming. The place was immaculate and nicely appointed, but if you need new and modern, you might not appreciate Kent House as much as we did. We loved its authenticity. Parking was no problem, as Lorraine provides guests with use of a disc. Nor is noise from the railway a problem, as the windows are triple-glazed and the room was relaxing and quiet. Breakfast was sumptuous with the availability of the full Irish breakfast plus yogurts and fresh fruit. We used Kent House as a base for ambling around Cork City Centre one day and for a pleasant drive south to Cobh and Kinsale the next. Next time, since the station is so close to the B&B, we would consider taking the train to Cobh, with some interesting stops that Lorraine pointed out to us along the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Hope you enjoyed Killarney and Galway as well.

Lorraine & John Dineen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Immaculately clean, excellent breakfast and very nice and helpful hosts. Beds comfortable and rooms have every amenity you would need. It is an old property and the floors are uneven ( I felt a bit drunk sometimes!) but that's part of its history. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your kind Review. We hope your Father enjoyed his trip and met many more Dineen's. Be sure to let us know if you come back again.

Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The home is beautiful and the breakfast was great. But this review is about the hospitality. Lorraine, the owner wehnt above and beyond for us. One of our travellers was sick and she let us use her phone and stay later than check out. She checked on us ofter. This is a wonderful family. If you are going to Cork, please support them with your business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully your 2 girls didn't miss you too much and your Mother enjoyed her holiday as well.


Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,460 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House B&B

Property: Kent House B&B
Address: Kent House 47 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and John Dineen welcome you to our home, Kent House Bed and Breakfast. Our house is a beautiful end of terrace Victorian Townhouse, built in the 1850's originally as a Merchants Townhouse. It has gone through many changes since then , and is now our home. Kent house is a family run, family friendly Bed and Breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast consists of five comfortable spacious and tastefully decorated guest bedrooms, all en-suite.While staying at Kent House, you are ideally located to tour Cork City, the capital of the south of Ireland, and the surrounding area. We are adjacent to the Railway Station, the Bus Station is 5 to 6 minutes walk and the City Centre is within 10 minutes walk. It's also convenient for the ferry port and the airport. Cork City is renowned for it's top class shopping, excellent pubs, restaurants and theatres.Lonely Planet 2011/12 :Cork City has been named among the top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2012'. The guide praises the city saying 'Cork is at the top of its game right now: sophisticated, vibrant and diverse, while still retaining its friendliness, relaxed charm and quick-fire wit.'Whether your stay is long or short or you are on business or pleasure, you will certainly enjoy your stay with us. Lorraine and John Dineen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kent House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing