We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kent House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kent House B&B
Ranked #7 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duleek, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spotless rooms, great bathroom/shower, comfy bed, loads of space and great location. no private parking but plenty of free on street parking right outside. I would defo stay here again, got a lovely welcome and good food. I was looking for somewhere cheap to stay, couldn't afford a hotel this is the next best thing. Would recommened it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
We hope the birthday went well.

Thanks

Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
54
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Spent a night there with my mom. It was great. I forgot some clothes there, and the owners went through great effort to mail my belongings back to me. Great location and walking distance to all of Cork. Loved Breakfast. The woman was nice and genuine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
Glad you enjoyed the music,

Thanks

Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We arrived to Kent House in early November for a 2 night stay, since they accepted the travel vouchers we had from B&B Ireland. I found a summary of the place in my Rough Guide Ireland book and the description seemed interesting enough to look into. It wrote that this was a Victorian era guesthouse with a warm, receptive couple in charge. This was a spot-on description. We did enjoy staying here because of how great John and Lorraine were. Yes, the house is old. Yes, some steps going up are slightly crooked. But really, how absurdly obsessive does a person have to be to take away from the rating of an establishment that's otherwise flawless? The bathroom was large, the room was large and the location was incredibly convenient! It was 10 minutes to the center of the city with a standard pace , and 5-7 minutes walking to Coburg/McCurtain Street for gems like Corner House pub and Isaacs Restaurant. Parking was plentiful and they provide a disc, and breakfast is delicious.

Every aspect of what makes a good B&B is there. In Cork, there's nowhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuriy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Kent House is not only ideally located to explore Cork city but the owners, Lorraine and John, open their home and make your stay really special. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the morning breakfast delicious. Proximity to the town, train and bus station was a wonderful benefit. Looking forward to a return journey. Lorraine and John, thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bocaloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all your comments. Thanks Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Lorraine&John run a beautiful home away from home in Cork& I have been trying to get onto your site for days to commend them!They're spotless,kind,friendly &helpful& feel like family. Wonderful to be so close to town, train&bus.It's quiet too.We'll always be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
Thanks
Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Kent House is a townhouse that was built in the 1800s. However, in comparison to many other B&Bs we stayed in during our recent trip, the Kent House rooms are of good size. We stayed in a triple room, so we lost some floor space with the twin bed added, but the bathroom was enormous. The B&B is located on a one way street north of town right next to the train station. It took us a while to find it because we didn't know initially how to get to Lower Glanmire or where #47 would be located. We spotted the building from its bright red appearance because the sign had been taken down and is being redone.

You will notice that at the Kent House and the other B&Bs attached to it, the train station sits directly behind the house. Not a pretty view of the city unfortunately. You may be thinking, "The train station, oh no, that must be loud." Well, it isn't loud. The trains are quiet and when we had the windows closed we couldn't hear anything. They must be double paned windows. They looked pretty new.

The only problems with the B&B were that the bed was pretty firm for my liking, but I sleep on a cloud at home, and there's not private car park. It is true city living. The parking is free from 5pm until ~8:30am on the street in front of the B&B. However, if you want to park at the train station for 7euro for 24 hours, you'd better get their early... real early. The parking lot fills up. There is another parking garage that is 8euro another 3-5 minute walk down Glanmire.

The B&B is in a decent location. it is 15 minutes by foot to downtown and the English market. There's good food and good entertainment, and we weren't scared to walk around town at night. It's also an easy drive to Kinsale in the south or Blarney in the North.

Are their better B&B's in Cork? Probably. However, it looked like you'd have the same parking issue with all of the B&B's IN Cork. You'll have to not stay in the city to have free parking. Also, the hosts were very gracious in helping up find places to eat, giving us maps and directions, and giving us ideas for things to see.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
Thanks
Lorraine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Positive first-the owner was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the place was clean. The building is very old and it shows-the front door would not open all the way(I think because of settling maybe?), the floor in our VERY small room was not level either. The veneer on the front of the armoire ws not attached & the bathroom had a closet that must have been storage for all extra items-which were thrown into the closet. The view out of the window was a roof of another part of the house which appeared to be in disrepair. Parking is on a one way street with a lot of traffic, had to park a distance away and wait for the area businesses to close for the night to move our car closer. Would not stay here again if we returned to Cork.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerswife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear farmerswife75,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased with the positive points.
However we have to dispute several of your negatives :
1 - The house is very old :- it is a Victorian Townhouse built in 1850. ( as per our website )
2 - The front door does open fully, however we keep an umbrella stand behind the door, which stops it from opening 100%
3 - The very small bedroom is 15ft by 13ft ( 180 sq ft ) with a bathroom of 12ft by 7ft ( 84 sq ft ).
4 - "The veneer on the front of the armoire ws not attached" - you are correct, it took us some time to find it, but you are correct.
5 - "the bathroom had a closet that must have been storage for all extra items" - again you are correct, it is a hotpress ( Storage tanks for hot water) - We use the sign on the door "For Staff use only" to explain it.
6 - The view out of the window is of the Railway Station. From a certain viewpoint you can see an extension roof.
7 - Again "Parking is on a one way street" and as we are in Cork City, it is busy between 8.30 and 9.00 in the morning and 5.15 and 5.45 in the evening , and as we told you when you arrived ( 5.30 approx ) it was easier to let the traffic ease off and then move the car to outside our house.

We are sorry you were disppointed with your stay, but we feel there is not a lot more we can do.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,283 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House B&B

Property: Kent House B&B
Address: Kent House 47 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and John Dineen welcome you to our home, Kent House Bed and Breakfast. Our house is a beautiful end of terrace Victorian Townhouse, built in the 1850's originally as a Merchants Townhouse. It has gone through many changes since then , and is now our home. Kent house is a family run, family friendly Bed and Breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast consists of five comfortable spacious and tastefully decorated guest bedrooms, all en-suite.While staying at Kent House, you are ideally located to tour Cork City, the capital of the south of Ireland, and the surrounding area. We are adjacent to the Railway Station, the Bus Station is 5 to 6 minutes walk and the City Centre is within 10 minutes walk. It's also convenient for the ferry port and the airport. Cork City is renowned for it's top class shopping, excellent pubs, restaurants and theatres.Lonely Planet 2011/12 :Cork City has been named among the top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2012'. The guide praises the city saying 'Cork is at the top of its game right now: sophisticated, vibrant and diverse, while still retaining its friendliness, relaxed charm and quick-fire wit.'Whether your stay is long or short or you are on business or pleasure, you will certainly enjoy your stay with us. Lorraine and John Dineen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Kent House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing