We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal”
Review of Barrys of Douglas

Barrys of Douglas
Ranked #115 of 642 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Popped in in February with my girlfriend. We booked a table for 9pm but misjudged our walk from a nearby hotel. W arrived some 45 mins early. They were very helpful and moved things about and pulled a table from the sky :)

Very competitively priced and right next door to Eco restaurant which is also very nice. The meal in Barry,s was of very good quality and was reasonably priced. There is a fine bar here also for a night cap after dinner.

Overall I thought it was very nice and would recommend it. It was very busy also so at the weekend I'd give them a call before travelling.

Helpful?
Thank IrelandPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    101
    41
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Newly refurbished still great food service and atmosphere ! Huge menu food was gorgeous will defenatly go back soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
292 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been here a number of times, both before and after the refurb. I find the food and service to be of a very satisfactory level. They usually run some specials too (3 courses for special price etc)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
“Barrys is back with a bang!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Absoluetely fantastic is the only way to describe the new look Bar & Restaurant in Barrys of Douglas. The atmosphere, the decor, the staff, the best pint of Heineken I have had in Cork for a long, long time and one of the best steak's I have ever had, anywhere. The quality of the food and the new pricing is simply superb, I have been there already a number of times since the re-opening with my family and we all just adore it. Cannot recommend and praise it highly enough, I think the owner has got it spot on with the refurbishments, really cool and comfortable, very bright and cheery, and I love the way the restaurant is now completely separate. it's a 10/10 for me. Barry's is back, with a bang!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulsCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Carvery Lunch”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went to Barry's after it reopened for a carvery lunch. Was very very impressed by the quality of food. Delicious roast lamb with all the trimmings. Will definitely be back for more.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dancindan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrys of Douglas also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Barrys of Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing