We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Parking & No Riverview!”
Review of River View B&B

River View B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River View B&B
Ranked #41 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Arcadia, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No Parking & No Riverview!”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We got extremely lost trying to find this B & B with our GPS, We called and let them know we were going to be somewhat late as a result. When we did arrive it was like they were upset with us for not finding them, we were holding them up or something.The owner scribbled a note saying we were staying there and told us to park down the street at some lodge or something and we then dragged our luggage for a couple of blocks! He said he was on the town counsil so they wouldnt tow us..... wow.. They did take our voucher and said we owed them an additional 4euros? How did we know so we payed! I saw the owner hurrying up to the pub as soon as we were coming back from parking, dig it! We didnt really feel the warm welcome you kinda hope for while there. We only saw them for a few when we arrived and the morning we left. Breakfast was served hot and was cooked well. They did have many brochures of nearby places in the room in a drawer. The bathroom was very tiny! The sink was in the bedroom. It was clean and I did sleep fairly well. I think I was dissapointed that there was no riversview, i was going with a theme for the trip. I dont think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplysara63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglaswilliams, Owner at River View B&B, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
The reviewer signed our visitor's book "lovely".
"River View" was built in 1892 when parking was not an issue. The only parking available is on a publc street. We try to keep parking for guests but this is not always possible. We provided parking for the reviewer in the grounds of a local sports hall about 100 yards away. The benefit of staying in "River View" is that you have 3 shopping centres and many pubs and restaurants within walking distance. There is a regular bus service to Cork City.
The reviewer had vouchers for a standard room which attracted a supplement for ensuite facilities; very few Irish Bed and Breakfast homes have standard rooms.
We have lost the river view due to recent developments and while nowadays it may be a misnomer, I am not inclined to change the name of the home which has been in my family for over 100 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We showed up an hour early or so. We had to walk around for an half an hour only to find out the owner was home the whole time (we rang 4x in that time). When she saw we were there early, everything became kind of an inconvenience to her. She told us to not let in strangers (seriously? we are guests ourselves), she didnt take credit cards, only to find out while we were leaving and needing to pay, and we felt as though we HAD to be quiet and muffle our voices downstairs during breakfast; it was like sitting at a friend's house that have divorcing parents and they can be set off by anything.

She could only recommend one restaurant and nothing to do in Cork. Seriously? Cork is supposed to have great food. She didnt even have brochures for things around the city. The internet was spotty in the room which stopped us from finding things out for ourselves...

On the up side, she DID help us get our laundry done and let us leave with a power converter... she tried to be nice but we felt as though we were a burden and not a paying customer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjglancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglaswilliams, Owner at River View B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
"River View" is a family run Bed and Breakfast with three guest bedrooms. We are not like a hotel with a 24 hour service desk and do not take credit or debit cards. Arrival times are between 3 pm and 6 pm. The reviewer arrived at 11 am from Limerick. As the couple were very tired I allowed them to their room and asked them not to answer the door while I was going out to do some shopping.
Brochures and a free tourist guide/map are available.
We do arrange a laundry service and have power converters for use in the home. We do not give a present of a power converter to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

my daughter and I stayed here and found it very nice and comfortable. Expected it to be near a river, but didn't see one. Close to shopping and pubs, street parking only so it was hit or miss how close we could park to the house. The house was very beautiful and clean and our hostess was very helpful in giving directions and advice.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Wonderful atmosphere, great traditional Irish food !! Host and Hostess were so sweet and welcoming! They made sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Rooms were cozy and homie . Close to down town and within walking distance to several restaurants. By far the best bed and breakfast for your money! I would recommend this bed and breakfast to any travelers who want to experience Ireland and its culture! A hidden gem!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The name is a bit misleading as there is no River View from this B&B, but other than that this b&b is perfect. The location can’t be beat. 15 minutes to the center of Cork via the #7 or 16 bus on the same block, a shopping center directly across the street, and tons of restaurants and pubs on the same block. It's also a 20 minute train ride from Cobh and Fota. The accommodations were immaculate and comfortable. The house was very quiet, which was surprising given the bustle going on outside. As another reviewer mentioned, parking in the area is horrendous. Worse then Manhattan! We returned our rental early due to the parking situation. Catherine, the owner, went out of her way to help us out. Even called her friend who let us park in her driveway to unload our luggage. Catherine was incredibly sweet and helpful. She chatted with us for nearly 20 minutes on arrival helping us with everything imaginable. The breakfast was fantastic. In addition to the usual Irish Breakfast, Catherine made her own brown bread that was divine and we were served strawberry banana smoothies. Lovely woman. I would stay there again any time. Wireless internet access is available and you get a very strong signal in your rooms. An assortment of outlet adapters were provided in the draws, as were a hairdryer, tea/coffee, and a tv. They accept B&B vouchers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishcolleen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, KS
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is an 1890 Victorian house located in a bustling "lifestyle center" (Douglas Village) about a 10 minute drive south of Cork City. The hostess was very helpful in helping us locate our destinations and showing us the bus routes/landmarks. Breakfast was tasty, satisfying, and made to order.

The room was a mixed bag. The bathroom and shower were tiny, and the mattress was comfortable but no longer level (I almost rolled out of bed once). However, the room itself was quiet, roomy, was equipped with a medium-sized LCD flatscreen TV, and had 12-foot ceilings. Also, the bathroom was small enough that the sink was in the bedroom, which is a good or bad thing depending on what you're trying to accomplish. :)

Parking is definitely an issue, as there is no dedicated lot for the B&B and there are lots of shops around. You will be parked on the street, which was safe...but you may end up a couple blocks away--not a good thing if you have a lot of luggage. All in all, the location isn't bad if you know what it is from the beginning. There is easy access to shops, restaurants, pubs, bus service, and a major freeway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjskck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ballintemple
Carole Ville Bed & Breakfast
Montenotte
Oakland Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View B&B

Property: River View B&B
Address: East Douglas Street | Douglas Village, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Ballintemple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing