We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Cork”

Farmgate Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 642 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Pensacola
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Cork”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our favorite restaurant in Cork. We visit once a year and always look forward to the simple, but high quality food. The seafood is always particularly fine. Even the bread and butter is outstanding. We like to eat in the glassed-in area. Be aware that the menu becomes much more limited after perhaps 3PM. Its location above the market is a wonderful perch from which to observe the bustling market while dining on its finest meats, fish, and produce. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducatista-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    166
    55
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homely Irish Food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

You must try their porridge with honey and cream - delicious - Love everything about the Farmgate - the buzz in the air, looking down on the live working market below - the food is and always has been great! Everything from Irish Stew to sandwiches to cakes... something for everyone

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank . .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EMPEROR'S NEW CLOTHES?”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We took some out of towners here for lunch at the weekend, as they had never been to the English Market. Must say I was a little embarrassed by the experience. They had run out of several items on the menu, so we ended up having sandwiches and wine, nothing to write home about, and far too expensive for what we got. I dont think they will be rushing back.........

Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a hearty soup and salad”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a short trip upstairs from the English Market, this restaurant brought to life some of the fresh produce, bread and fish as I savoured the myriad of tastes with my chowder, chunk of bread and butter and plate of greens all dressed up.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank margieinkinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good spot- if a little busy!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Wnjoyed the atmosphere of this place, nice food and good prices. Much better than you might expect from a market cafe. Quite busy though,they encourage you to eat a leave if its busy which was a little annoying, but that's the price of being popular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMacA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmgate Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farmgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing