We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eventually found it, wished we hadn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Cork
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Eventually found it, wished we hadn't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a GPs and still had trouble finding the hotel. We had driven 1000's of mile around Scotland and ireland with no trouble negotiating cities and the rural areas, but finding this place was too difficult. The greeting was anything but hospitable and nothing improved thereafter.

We had reserves a 1 bedroom suite. Well, there were two rooms but a 'suite' would be too grand for this area. It was sparsely furnished and the sitting/lounge area was half empty. It was freezing cold and when we requested some heat we were informed that the heaters were on a timer and could not be adjusted. We were, however, offered a bar heater ... which never turned up.

Other areas of the hotel were similarly uninviting. The massage in the spa was good but again, no sense of welcome or comfort. It was like sitting in a doctors surgery waiting for a consultation.

Go somewhere else, you will be more likely to find it and enjoy it more.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was terribly disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us back in January.

The customer service standards which you experienced are most certainly not to the standard which we strive to achieve here at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please dont hesitate to contact myself directly @ 021 4297000 and I would be delighted to speak to you. You may also email the hotel directly info.cork@radissonblu.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    373
    175
    63
    49
See reviews for
310
315
34
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for your onward journey and is almost on the road to everywhere. The hotel is of high quality and very clean with very friendly staff. The only downside is if you get a room above the gym be prepared for an early wake up by the noise. I always eat in the bar and the food quality is excellent. In the morning the breakfast has got to be one of the best around with fresh baked bread and an impressive buffett. During holiday times and summer the hotelcan be very busy and I would advise advance booking. The situation of the hotel does confine you to the hotel itself as there is very little within walking distance in the area. However do not be put off as you will have an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a suite you will get a really nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa,Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments in relation to noise from the Gym and reported the matter to the Manager of the Retreat Spa & Fitness Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

On the surface this is a good hotel, food was really nice and the breakfasts (if you ask for Cafe Latte or Cappuccino) are really good (except for bulk standard inedible coffee). The Spa is good, although in Ireland I believe its normal for everyone to wear swim caps).
The room seemed clean, until I spent any time in them, where everything started to go wrong. Basically, they need to either air the rooms more regularly or get better vacuum cleaners. I spent most the evenings with a streaming nose from the dust (at the time I thought I was coming down with a cold, but it miraculously disappeared when I went out to the fresh air!!!
I had a room facing the Car dealership, which was another mistake as a car alarm went off on the last night, and went on all night long, which seemed like a very, very long and sleepless night.

Room Tip: Away from the Car Dealership, or bring ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I am dissappointed to read of the issues you experience during your stay. This does not reflect the level of service which we strive to achieve here at the hotel.

I have noted your feedback and passed this to the relevant managers.

Should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail, please dont hesitate to contact myself directly by dialling 021 4297000.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were booked in for a 3 night stay, there on business but the staff and facilities made it a very comfortable stay. Have stayed here twice before (2011 & 2009) and nothing has changed, except the staff. And there is the minor issue I have. The rooms are exactly the same as the first visit and although they are very comfortable and quite spacious, they are looking a little tired, a few marks on the carpets, curtains not hanging quite right, windows not closing properly once opened. But for all that, the room was quiet enough and the black-out style curtains kept it dark enough. Carpets in other parts of the hotel were also badly stained. The pool was as good as I remembered, although the changing room could do with a bit of a spruce up. Take a swim cap or else you will have to buy one for 2.25euros. The water is a good temperature and after a long day on my feet, it was bliss just to fall into it and unwind! The power water shoots soon hammer out the knots in your neck! The whirl pools were very therapeutic too. Go later if you don't want to share the pool with excited, noisy children. The staff hadn't heard of the spinner to dry costumes, it would be a good addition. The conference facilities are well prepared and planned out. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive in all departments. The food was good quality, with generous portions, although some things could have been hotter. You need a car to get into Cork or catch a train, the station is a 5 minute walk back over the bridge. No doubt we will be back in 2 years time, I don't expect much to have changed. All in all though, a good weekend.

Room Tip: Some rooms have air con, check when booking if you require it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I have passed all of your comments to the Management Team.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our Hydrotherapy Pool and all it had to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I arrived late, that particular evening, and the big restaurant/bar was still open, great !
I could enjoy(?) a well-done hamburger i asked for rare but it was impossible to prepare as everything is already pre-cooked in the kitchen. The staff is very friendly, at the bar and at the reception, fine to be helped like this.
The hotel is situated in a clam neighbourhood, it means no traffic noise, great!
My room was big, I received a room for disabled person at the 1st floor, (impossible to give to disabled persons as there was no elevator available at that time), it means a very big bathroom and a lot of space in the room itself.
The room is modern and well equipped, tea , coffee everything is there well present.
The breakfast is ok, europeans, british and american will appreciate the proposed food.
Wifi is free and working good.
We had reserved a meeting room for that day in the hotel, coffee was served on time, staff was friendly and not intrusive, meeting room is situated in the old part of the building with parket-floor. One of my colleague (the one who had reserved the meeting room) could even enjoy a suite and told us it was big and enjoyable.
The price was fair 89€/night, breakfast included and this, in the week...

Room Tip: sound from outside is not an issue, so probably all rooms are equivalent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

It appears that you experienced most of our facilities apart from the Retreat Spa & Fitness Centre, perhaps when you return you will have some time to enjoy our Hydrotherapy Pool.

I have passed your wonderful feedback to the team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, reception looked the job as you enter the hotel, rooms again nice nothing wrong with them, the only problem we had was dinner , the food was fairly average but all the people eating that evening were squashed up against one another in the dining room which was very annoying while the rest of the room was left vacant

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skybus320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed your comments in relation to your dinner experience to the Restaraunt Manager.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a wonderful three nights at the hotel. The room was fantastic (007) and the friendly staff could not do enough for us. The only trouble was the bed was on wheels and every time you got in there would be a gap at the back of the bed. The pool was lovely and warm with water jets and jacuzzis, steam room and sauna. They could do with one of those machines to tumble dry your swimming costume (takes about 2 mins) instead of having to hang dripping costumes over the bath to dry. The breakfast was amazing with a great choice and the dinner choice was very good - huge portions. Very easy to get into Cork on the train, just one stop and the station is just over the bridge. A must is the English market, where they have everything - great food upstairs. Would come to Cork again, plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edel C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments in relation to your bed, and I will forward these to the Housekeeping Manager.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork in the future.

Kindest Regards
Edel Caulfield
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
Address: Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cork
#7 Spa Hotel in Cork
#8 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Family Hotel in Cork
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Radisson Blu Hotel is located 15 minutes from Cork City centre. The hotel is ideally situated near Fota Island, Cobh and just 15 minutes from Cork International Airport. The Hotel has 126 bedrooms, a fitness centre, a hydrotherapy swimming pool, retreat spa along with The Island Grillroom Restaurant and Banks Bar. The hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure as we offer a wide variety of services from relaxing spa treatments to complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing