We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dining!”
Review of Isaac's Restaurant

Isaac's Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 637 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $47
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went to this simple yet pretty restaurant for lunch recently. For such a spacious place I was surprised to see it so bustling at 12.30 but soon discovered why. Efficiency in the service and quality in the food combined with the nice afternoon light coming through the large windows. Ordered deep fried brie with babyleaf salad for starters and the cod for main. The brie was creamy and crisp but not a bit oily, the cod and sauce was simply perfectly cooked. I can see why this place is a Cork institution!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    146
    42
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Earlybird.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

An excellent restaurant, always visit when in Cork. Service, presentation and value for money all top class. Earlybird menu now sadly only two courses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holmium_laser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyshane, Owner at Isaac's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thank for you positive review its greatly appreciated. Just one note with regards to the pricing of the early menu. The previous menu was €25. for three course and due to customer feed back we dropped price to €22. for a two course meal.

Regards Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious Pre-Theatre Meal!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the ideal restaurant to hit on a night out if you are going to the Everyman theatre across the road for a show. We made a booking on a busy Thursday night, as this is a restaurant that is always popular in Cork (for lunch and dinner!) it is advisable to book in advance. The interior is very nice with great atmosphere, stone walls and high ceilings, there is a good selection of art and lots of nice touches around the counter and tables. It is loud overall as a restaurant but I think this also adds to the atmosphere. Our waitress for the evening was extremely friendly throughout and the service was very good from start to finish. The menu is quite creative and not your standard options for main courses. For mains there is a very good choice of options ranging from Fish / Meat to a few vegetarian options too. We chose to stay with the main A La Carte though there was a nice early bird menu available as well for €22 for two courses.
For mains I had the Lamb Curry while my girlfriend had the Penne Pasta dish with Mushrooms / Bacon and Spring onion. Both were delicious and the Curry came with a selection of accompanying sauces and a homemade poppadom which was a nice touch. There was also a very tasty selection of bread to start with which we devoured. For desserts we chose the Flourless chocolate cake with Hazelnut along with the house caramel ice cream served with bananas. Again these very good, the cake in particular was delicious and really dense. The ice cream definitely did seem homemade but could do with maybe a tad more caramel flavour but was nice overall. Coming in at just over €50 excluding service for two courses each and one wine which I think is good value for the standard of food and service in Cork City. We really enjoyed our evening here and this is an excellent restaurant to visit. Just some advice, if you are going for a Steak / Chicken dish etc. order a side as the portions aren’t mega large. Service is extremely quick and efficient as well so, if you are looking for somewhere to linger a bit over dinner this wouldn’t be the spot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really nice food and nice atmosphere for with friends, family or partner. Always a buzz about the place! Going there again next week. One of my favourites in Cork.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
229 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Isaacs is a great place for a group meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a group of six for dinner here recently and from the professional friendly service to the well presented food everything was splendid. Isaacs is a stalwart fixture of the Cork dining scene for years now and obviously has a successful formula- good well priced food- a brief menu done well and a reasonably priced short wine list. The staff are always welcoming and friendly and go the extra mile to ensure that you will return. Our group had the full works, starter, mains and desserts and all were of a good standard. The tempura of prawns and vegetables deserves honorable mention as the batter was light and fluffy and the prawn provencale main course was also of a high standard- the prawns obviously local and cooked to perfection with just that bite needed to remind you that these are fresh and not frozen. The vegetarian curry selection was also excellent and those in the group who had the duck confit pronounced it top class. The wine - Masi - was good value at €25. The evening was a great success without a glitch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isaac's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing