We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever”
Review of Cafe Gusto

Cafe Gusto
Ranked #136 of 642 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: Our two cafes bookend Cork city centre serving people who share our passion for great coffee and healthy Mediterranean style food.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

After 18 months break its so nice to report that this little gem of a place is still open with great food (had the meatballs and my wife had Lamb Kebabs with cous cous) at very reasonable prices. The option to take your own wine in (5 Euro corkage) is not needed as the wines are always excellent and not overpriced. The casual atmoshere and friendly staff that make this a great place for just a snack during the day (especially the breakfast) or a meal and wine with friends as dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee, friendly service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a lucky find this place was. Best coffee I have had since arriving in Ireland and the Aussie waitress made us feel very welcome and right at home. We had the mushroom soup -yummo, and the flying bacon sandwich -delicious and filling. Only complaint - uncomfortable seats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1960sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ate here with another on a Friday night and was so impressed! didn't expect it at all! It's very casual, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely delicious! We had four dishes between the two of us and all four were extremely impressive! Calamari with a beautiful garlic dip was awesome. She had lamb tagine and was very impressed. Can't remember the other two dishes, but what I do remember was the two of us barely saying a word as we savoured the flavours.

The wine recommended was lovely and as we sat at the window and watched the people of Cork strut by, both were completely content to sit there and soak it up.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and very nice breakfast! Try the following: the arsadallagh cheese sandwich, the pancakes and the chocolate cake!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clod230412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really excellent coffee”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is probably the nicest cup of coffee in cork. Only problem is that the large is not really even a good medium but costs a large. However its not watery stuff like so many of the cafes in the city are.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gusto also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Cafe Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing