We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food + friendly service”

Bombay Palace Indian Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 643 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: "Best Indian restaurant in Cork". Serving Cork for over 18 years.
cork
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food + friendly service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went here after work one evening so it was quiet when we arrived.
By the time we left there was a nice buzz .

Other reviews had led me to expect poor decor etc. but we found it fairly well kept and the restaurant was nice & warm.

Food was more than enough and very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cronint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    22
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely food but very sick next day...”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Bombay Palace was always number one Indian restaurant in Cork because of its great food so we went there last weekend for romantic dinner. We had a very nice dinner but next day my Girlfriend and I we both went very very sick next morning...... Very disappointed after being their customer for last 7 years.... I don't think I will come back soon......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First time Indian Food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I like what I ate and I couldn't finish, the plate was too big for me.
The service was great, no rushing, they gave us extra time to decide and explained couple of meals. It was full of people on that Friday evening, very lively and pleasant.
The owner could modernise it a bit,or just change that almost destroyed carpet at the reception...or cover it with a nice indian rug or a runner. Someone else mentioned that the decor is out of date, and I'd add that exactly that makes the restaurant look unclean.

Helpful?
Thank alfamarija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place With a Nice Atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice place with a nice atmosphere.
The plates arrived all the same time, one of them was very good but the other was completely burned (tikka).The staff was helpful and didn’t charge us the burnt plate.
Overall I recommend this place. Stop by if you visit Cork

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TILL-Joao-Cardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, not so sure about the atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had read good reviews of Bombay Palace online when searching for Indian food in Cork, so ventured in on a Saturday evening. I didn’t like the look of the restaurant itself: it is quite small and there was very few people eating in. This left the atmosphere of the restaurant itself a little dull, and the dated décor didn’t help. I did notice that the reception area seemed very busy with takeaway orders and as our hotel was just around the corner we decided to get it to go.

We ordered two mains and a garlic naan, and as usual with Indian got complimentary poppdoms and two dips. This left us both perfectly full: not too much and far from too little. It was one of the most flavourful Indian dishes I have ever tasted: definitely top restaurant quality despite the fact we got it to go. Takeout service was also fast and very friendly and we could see the chefs in the kitchen chopping fresh ingredients which was fantastic. I would defiantly order from here again, although I am not too sure I would eat in the restaurant itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrabailey_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Bombay Palace Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing