We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining Host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory

CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory
Ranked #20 of 144 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Entertaining Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were amazed at how castle looked from the outside.
On going in there is plenty of scientific things to keep you entertained.
We had an amazing and funny guide which was fun and made the visit seem a wee bit different.
An interactive game at the end will keep bairns and adults happy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daibhidh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Daibhidh,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your visit here. We’re really glad that you enjoyed the tour especially as it’s one of our favourites also.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    74
    36
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This very pretty castle is very well run and houses an interactive exhibition about the solar system and life on earth - this kept our children entertained for about 30/40 minutes on a rainy day - and is followed by a tour of the castle. Otherwise, there is a really lovely courtyard cafe on site which serves high quality food and drinks (albeit a little pricey). This is a really lovely place to spend a few hours and we would recommend this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shimlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Shimlion,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit.

We hope you can visit again at one of our free monthly open evenings called First Fridays at the Castle. Included in these nights are four half-hour hands-on family friendly workshops in MakeSpace and weather dependent stargazing in our courtyard. You can find all info on our various activities under the events section of our website.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great for all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I'm surprised to see the other negative reviews. We have two kids, 7 and 9 years and we all enjoyed spending a good couple of hours here recently. Really friendly and knowledgeable staff and an interesting exhibition in a great location. Good stuff!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Cheers Gabrielle – you’ve put a smile on our faces with this lovely review. We hope youyou’re your family can visit again to enjoy our free monthly open evenings called First Fridays at the Castle.

Included in these nights are hands-on family friendly workshops in MakeSpace, weather dependent stargazing in our courtyard, vary info in our science centre and an astronomy led lecture at 20:00.

You can find all info on our various activities under the events section of our website.
All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I don't care about "Outer Space"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the outside this looks like an amazing castle, but after paying to get in I was disappointing to see it was basically a permanent exhibition about outer space, and seemed to be designed for school tours of teenagers. I feel that if you are an adult they should warn you at the door that this isin't really a tourist attraction per se. I see online now that it is somehow associated with Cork Institute of Technology.

You would will get more bang for your buck by having a coffee at the Restaurant outside, that appears to be run by a different company.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frontiergentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackrockCastle, Front Office Manager at CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frontiergentleman,

It is our policy to make everyone aware on entering at the reception desk that we offer an interactive science experience rather than a castle one. We apologise that this appears to have not happened in your case.

All the best,
Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only the outside counts”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The castle is looking awesome from outside but once you go inside its worn down tech things about space...well bearly space... and nothing was worth the money. You will get more for your money to sit at the resturant outside (great food) and enjoy the river and the castle next to it. Just dont go inside.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory also viewed

 

Been to CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing