We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
College View Apartments
Ranked #36 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely place away from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Visiting a city for the first time can be quite an anxious experience, especially when we have to participate & perform in a festival. But the minute we arrived in CollegeView, all the worries disappeared because of its location, proximity and convenience to all facilities.

We opted for the 2 bedroom (1Queen & 1 single) and was set up nicely, with the single bed downstairs. We requested for a ground floor unit and was provided one. This was really nice, because we can sit around outside, like our own veranda.

Laundry was a bit expensive compared to a laundro-mat about 300m from the apartment. Being a self-catering apartment, food can still be ordered from the bed&breakfast place next door. We managed to do some grocery shopping in English Market at the town centre, to complete our food supplies.

Getting to the city central is within walking distance and very convenient. If you don't feel like walking, catching a cab or bus is also convenient.

The kitchen appliances were more than we would have expected. The bathroom upstairs was a bit cramped, but otherwise squeaky clean. Towels were changed on daily basis. Bed linen was changed every other day. WiFi was free and of high speed.

Overall, the place is recommended and who knows, we might comeback again - some day...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si_Janti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
30
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights during the week. We have been to cork a number of times but wanted to try the self catering experience instead of the booking a hotel. Because the price was excellent, (237euro) we had expected an apartment with the bare essentials but we couldn't have been more surprised! The apartment was on the second floor so up a few stairs, which was a little tough with luggage! It was the perfect size for two people, with a fully fitted kitchen, sitting room and bedroom. The weather could have been better but having such a comfortable apartment made up for the rainny days. The welcome was extremely friendly which always sets up for a great holiday. The only downside was that the bed covers were a little dirty and the people in the upstairs apartment were a little noisy. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed in these apartments for 1 week after making an email reservation with the landlord. When I arrived I had some problems with the accomodation and the landlord went out of her way to sort the problem straight away! Service was excellent, high cleanliness standards and friendly atmosphere and staff. Good location for privacy but also has a reception nearby 24 hours for assistance. I will be returning again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzleblonde1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Hi just had to write about are stay in the College View Apartments Western Rd. Cork City my wife and I spent a few days in one of these apartments, First of all when we arrived we were met by a lovely lady called Margaret, who made us feel very welcome which is a must after traveling for 5 hours, and our first visit to Cork since we were children.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and had all the amenities we required for our stay, fresh clean towels were supplied each morning. You could take a 20 min walk straight to the city center, which we did once but to be honest we used the bus service for the rest of our stay, the bust stops for return journeys into town were located just outside the apartments which was very handy, Just to make our stay even more memorable our hostess Margaret gave us the most beautiful home made scones and fruit loaf for our breakfast on our departure. We highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desmondwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint,Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed 3 nights in a single apartment. Which included stove, microwave, pots and pans, etc. Too bad I'm from the USA and couldn't figure out how to use anything but the microwave. I spent 2 days with no heat and no hot water in the kitchen or bathroom sink. My apartment was on the 5th floor and mind you there is no elevator so no one wanted to show me how to turn on anything. They kept trying to tell me how to turn on the switches but in the USA when they take you into your room they turn on everything for you or show you how to do it. Now that I'm through with the negative stuff I have to say I loved my little apartment. The decor was great. There was a sky light by the bed and in the bath. The breakfasts that they offered me were excellent. I would recommend College View to anyone in need of a nice place to return to after a day of sightseeing and shopping and after a few too many at the pubs in town.

  • Liked — The decor and location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynhotstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I had a lovely stay at the College View Apartments. These are new-ish self-catering flats that are owned by the same people who run the Killarney Guest House (I think). I had a spacious 1-bedroom flat for 75E/night. There was a fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, cooking range/hob, fridge, plates, cutlery, etc. The open-plan kitchen/dining/living room area was bright and airy. The ensuite bathroom was a little cramped, but that is too be expected. Access to the Internet included; the wireless was dodgy, so I just used the cable that was provided.

The location of the apartments is fantastic, across the road and a three-minute-walk from the main gates of the University College Cork. Being on Western Road can be a bit noisy what with the traffic and drunken students, but the bedroom was facing north, away from the road. A quick walk to the city centre.

No lift (or none that was immediately obvious to me), so you'll need to be able to handle your own luggage up and down the stairs. The apartment could have used some kind of laundry drying rack, since it is likely that many people who stay here do so for slightly longer periods of time and might have some things they'd like to wash by hand and line-dry. The people who run the Killarney Guest House seem a little confused but nice enough (see reviews under Killarney Guest House), and the issues with credit card payment appear to have been resolved. I was able to pay with a credit card with no problem.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness and light of apartment.
  • Disliked — A little noisy.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bnedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#14 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#29 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Mardyke
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College View Apartments

Property: College View Apartments
Address: Western Road | Opposite the University College of Cork (UCC), Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — College View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College View Apartments are an ideal base for all your needs in Cork. For the business traveller to the holiday make and the concert goer, College View covers everything you will need. With a choice of a one bedroom apartment or a studio there is a fully equipped kitchen and TV and seating area. The apartments are located just a short walk from the city centre with access via bus and taxi. For business purposes they are short drive from City Gate, little Island, UCC, CIT, Apple Computer, Bons Secours Hospital, Mercy Hospital to name but a few. They are ideal for a short 1 night stay or a longer business assignment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your College View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing