We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
College View Apartments
Ranked #37 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Irish have a reputation for warm and welcoming hospitality and I was not disappointed. I was escorted to my apartment which was really good value for money. Clean and quiet.. It was also really close to town (about a 5-10 minute walk) and buses (the 208) leave right outside and drop you off across the road. Because I'd made a mistake with my booking, the owner went out of her way to help me find an alternative (as all of her accommodations were booked out) and even let me keep my luggage there while I went up town and had a coffee and mucked around. I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenKateM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
30
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

appts. booked by group of friends, 2x2 bedrooms appts and 2x1 bedroom appts, All appt lovely and modern, though hot water was a bit unpredictable. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. BIG COMPLAINT.... the 2 x2 bedroom appts. turned out to be an upstairs double en-suite room with 2 single beds downstairs or sofa bed. The only access for all 4 guests was through the upstairs bedroom which was open plan!!!! No privacy and though we are all good friends in each of theses appts were 1 couple and 2 seperate sex friends. When we complained about this we were told that they gave us these particular appts because they were nicer than the 2 bedroom ones we were supposed to get. We were offered a move but as we were just on our way out for the day and only had another day of our trip to spend we declined the swap. We were however refunded an amount off our original price with a lot of haggling. I would reccomend this to single travellers or couples not wishing to share but check your getting what you've paid for if booking a 2 bedroomed appt. No matter how good your friends are you don't want to traipse through their bedroom to the toilet al all times of the day or night!!!!!!

Room Tip: make sure when you arrive that your getting a 2 bedroomed appt if that's what you've booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have rented the apartments on a number of occassions.
The location is excellent.
The accomodation is really clean, comfortable and very inviting.
So much so that I have returned on many occasions and would really recommend it.
The staff are very attentive and it really is a well run business.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AingealC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It can be difficult to get B&B accommodation in the city with parking so this is a good option if you need to park. However the parking is mostly at the back of Killarney House so there might be a short walk. The place itself is using the word "apartment" in its broadest sense: these are really Victorian converted flats. However they are in very good condition and well maintained.

The only small gripes I would have was that it could have been a little more clean and the door on the freezer was broken which rendered the entire fridge useless (I suspect this building was original rented out to longer term tenants, which explains the poor quality of the fridge) as the temperature was unstable. Otherwise it was fine, quiet and convenient for the city. The free wifi was a boon as many Cork hotels now charge high prices for this, but you will get slightly more luxurious places for only a little more.

Room Tip: Let them know if you don't want a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I had booked a studio apartment and were delighted to be offered the large two-floor apartment on arrival. The receptionist was very friendly and said they were nearly full but he was offering us the big apartment. We were delighted with the upgrade - the sitting room, kitchen and upstairs bedroom were of an excellent standard and definitely four-star finish. This is the best accommodation we have ever experienced, even better than five-star hotels in Dublin! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here as we have a young baby so wanted self catering accommodation which was close to the city centre

The apartment itself was clean & comfortable. Only issue being the shower which had very low pressure & was very hard to fix to an appropriate temperature. We did inform staff about this but nothing was done. It has a central enough location - about a five minute walk to the city centre which is all a straight road so easy to navigate.

Checkout from the apartment was at 12, we believed it to be 1 so had gone to grab lunch before our homeward journey. Upon our return the cleaners had cleared our room of the few items left (mainly items to feed baby before setting off) & these were in black bin bags at the door. My husband asked was that everything, this was confirmed so he cleared them & we fed baby in the car. Arriving home I was very upset to find an expensive leather jacket which was hanging over one of the chairs in the apartment was not in our possession. When we phoned, the receptionist told us nothing had been handed in but he would get the manager to phone us back in morning. No phone call was received. My husband phoned again & the manager said her staff hadnt handed anything in … We asked if she could speak with them. She said she would get back to us. NO PHONE CALL. My husband phoned again & informed her that the police would have to be informed.

I would have recommended this apartment because its location was handy & the facilities were overall good but I would never recommend anyone stay anywhere where management would not at least investigate such an incident

DISGUSTED!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week and it was a pleasure! The lady who checked us in is very friendly and she gave us tea and cookies every day (and some very niece apple pie on arrival). Very friendly and welcoming. The apartment has a front room with everything you need. The bedroom and shower unit are to the back and are very (!) quiet. Slept very good! Mattress is good..and the place is clean. Within walking distance to the city center and UCC. Will I come back next year.....for sure. Extremely friendly people! Thank you for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: I had apartment 4-4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#30 of 58 in Cork
128 reviews
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#16 of 58 in Cork
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#24 of 58 in Cork
41 reviews
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College View Apartments

Property: College View Apartments
Address: Western Road | Opposite the University College of Cork (UCC), Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — College View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
College View Apartments are an ideal base for all your needs in Cork. For the business traveller to the holiday make and the concert goer, College View covers everything you will need. With a choice of a one bedroom apartment or a studio there is a fully equipped kitchen and TV and seating area. The apartments are located just a short walk from the city centre with access via bus and taxi. For business purposes they are short drive from City Gate, little Island, UCC, CIT, Apple Computer, Bons Secours Hospital, Mercy Hospital to name but a few. They are ideal for a short 1 night stay or a longer business assignment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your College View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing