We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE”

Ardara House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardara House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #51 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here this year. We were welcomed by Mary who informed us our room was not ready. She tried to charge us more than the price we had agreed to over the phone. When we got to our room or cell it was manky dirty, smelly and cold the whole night through.The breakfast was a joke im sure she microwaved it. The only plus was that it is close to the city and train station. MY ADVICE STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardhouse, Owner at Ardara House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

In response to Donna - Check in time is at 4pm and rooms are always ready by that time. We would always stay with price agreed beforehand. The comments regarding the room are simply not true. Also, the breakfast is freshly cooked each morning. I find this review insulting and highly questionable. Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Myself and my wife are street performers, we visited Cork for the street performance championships in July...what a classic city cork is. I'd really recommend the english market and the outdoor shops on macurtain street...oh and the park in Fitzgerald, which is very near the Mardyke.

Anyway, our stay at Ardara was very pleasant, had wide views over most of the city. Aidan and Mary showed us some nice places to eat and also helped with our luggage when we had to get to Dublin on the train. Would highly recommend, really great value too compared to some other places we looked at. Also, try Spice Route and the Berries Fruit and Ham shop on the nearby Macurtain St. Tastyyyy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardhouse, Manager at Ardara House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank You for the kind review, it was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and loved it. Great views of the city with a comfortable homely feel about the place. Found the people working there very friendly and helpful. It's in a great location, a short walk to the bus station, train station and city centre. Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran_F93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having arrived soaking wet after a downpour, I was given towels at the door and my bag carried to my room while I dried off by the fire. Staff were genuinely lovely and bent over backwards to make me feel welcome (which was lovely as I was on my own), yummy hot breakfast too!

They're pretty high up on a hill so the view over the city is gorgeous and are walking distance from the bus station which was handy for me.
My room was quite large, very clean and was nicely heated. It's a gorgeous old building with some great modern touches inside.
Aidan and Mary have a great knowledge of the area and nice places to visit nearby plus they're good for a chat!

Would definitely stay there again as Ardara really did feel like a home away from home and for the price, it's great for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Front facing room had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omelette241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Had a great, restful stay at Ardara House recently. So close to the city, Location is great. Nice views from Living room. Mary is lovely and genuine, makes you feel very welcome and at home. Was in Cork for shopping and I would highly recommend Ardara for a weekend getaway. (Great value, too).

Some people seem to be spiteful with reviews for the sake of it - this is a charming and welcoming B&B, will definately be back when in Cork!

Room Tip: If you're in a room facing the city, you will have some lovely views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

On arrival by the worker who was managing the place. She was very rude and abrupt. BE AWARE, as we had booked our room through the Irish Tourist Board we had already paid our deposit thro them. On arrival, both the owner & manager disputed this & wanted us to pay again. Lucky we had a receipt to prove it. They claimed that they had no record of our booking
Room extremely small. Only one tea bag & milk each.
Breakfast extremely poor. Not value for money.
The B&B is up a steep hill, which was ok for us but if you have heavy bags u may need a taxi. The view from our room was nice.
Would not stay here again though

Room Tip: Top front rooms have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardhouse, Owner at Ardara House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

On this particular occasion, I was not present. However I would never stand by this type of behaviour by any staff. Regarding the booking - there was a mistake made, and I was not informed of that booking by Bord Failté. We always strive to resolve any customer issues satisfactorily. In this case, the customers were charged only 20euro per person in high season - exceptional value for money by any standards. I, as owner, like to treat customers with courtesy as I like to be treated myself.

Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Jail cell rooms. Mary lovely lady. Girl who manages the B&B and who answers the door is very very rude. Very loud and noisy as manager is constantly opening and closing her door which other guests can hear and she pounds up and down the stairs to open front door. Very unhappy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardhouse, Owner at Ardara House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

I regret to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. I take pride in guest satisfaction and unfortunately, the behaviour of this staff member does not live up to standards. This employee is no longer part of Ardara House.

Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
810 reviews
Country House B@b
#10 of 21 in Cork
3 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardara House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardara House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Adelaide Street | Wellington Road, Summerhill North, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing