We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My idea of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Paradiso

Cafe Paradiso
Ranked #2 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mardyke
Pennines
Level Contributor
165 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“My idea of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

As a very special treat we spent a weekend in Cork (travelling from the UK) specifically to eat here for two nights. The cookery books are among my favourites but actually having the dishes for me was a total dream.
The restaurant was busy both Friday and Saturday night and the atmosphere was fantastic and the staff professional, friendly and relaxed.
Most importantly the food is exquisite - the best vegetarian meals I've ever eaten in a restaurant. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    114
    52
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I rarely visit vegetarian restaurants - we are confirmed omnivores. In this case all of the positive reviews caused us to make an exception - and we were so glad we did. The food was outstanding, there was a nice selection of wines, and the service was attentive. The decor is quite informal - fitting for the location close to the university.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vegetarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a welcome experience after enjoying traditional Irish food for the past few days to find Cafe Paradiso and have probably the best vegetarian meal I hav ever had. The service was attentive as we were greated and seated promply. Starting with a glass of wine and small starters, which were outstanding was a clear start for the rest of the meal. My starter was a kale stuffed ravioli and cheese would have been more then enough, filled with flavor and very fresh. My main course was a lentil, eggplant and blue cheese stuffed kale cake over a bed of pototo slices and wonderful cream based sauce with capers. Truely a wonderful meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had waited for a long time to eat here and it was worth the wait. Best food (let alone vegetarian food) we had tasted in Ireland. Dined there twice (lunch and dinner) to sample the great variety and freshness, lovingly and creatively crafted. Choice of organic wines were wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacFinn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding. First time meat eaters.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Staying a couple of nights in the nearby River Lee Hotel, we noticed this restaurant on the walk into town. Checked the menu on the way back and found an early bird menu €23 for 2 courses. As non veggies, but having experienced some fantastic veg options before, we decided to try this wonderful place. We were not disappointed, the food was delicious, as was the service and the ambiance. Please try. Wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigT43ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Paradiso also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing