We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than what I expected”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had read some reviews before I booked to stay here and was pleasantly surprised. The Blarney Woollen Mills was in a great location and just a few minuted from Blarney castle where you can kiss the Blarney stone. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely great choice on the menu. My only disadvantage was the lift was out of order and we were on the second floor. We had dinner in the Mill pub next door Christy's which was lovely and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    172
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
117
218
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
646 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night, nice staff, clean room, comfy bed. Perfect for what I needed and very reasonable. Gym could do with updating tho! Avoid christys bar but the mill restaurant did a great breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, fantastic food and excellent location.
3 minutes walk to Blarney Castle, excellent food served in Christy's pub next to the hotel. The largest irish shop in the world and great breakfasts!
Worth a visit - yes, the hotel rooms could do with some updating but our room was clean and spacious.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissW_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Second time around not much has changed - beds are still comfy and overall it's old-fashioned in a charming sort of way. Lots of free parking and within walking distance of plenty of eateries/pubs of an evening. Great shower facilities with impressive water pressure no mayyer what time of the day. The main letdown for me this time was the staff, some were really quite unpleasant. Including the ladies who service the rooms and left their radio blaring Rihanna at 11.15am on a Sunday morning on a cart outside our room - and muttered aggressively at us in another language when we (and the guest next door) wandered out into the hallway to ask them to turn it off. One receptionist, Carmel I think, was lovely - the rest not so much. It's a large tourist hotel where lots of bus tours stop so maybe being pleasant gets a little old when you're smiling at the millionth guest, but manners don't cost anything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay! Room was clean and comfortable and there is nothing I could fault about the place! There is also a restaurant and bar on the site which are also excellent and very good value too! The castle and stone are just a five minute walk away also.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hihihhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clones, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for three nights, excellent value, breakfasts where excellent, plenty of choices.Decent pot of tea and large cups Food in Christies bar was god.. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Room warm and comfortable. Would definately go back.Short walk to entrance to Blarney Castle.

Room Tip: Double room with seated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here the night of the storms and flooding in Cork. So glad we did as we were safe and comfortable in no time..Yes the hotel is full of character and could do with a make over in parts but still the room was warm, welcoming, clean and spacious.

After a comfortable night we had breakfast in the restaurant. the staff were all very pleasant,helpful, efficient serving our food and making sure we had enough tea and coffee at all times. We left very content with our nite away and well fed for the rest of the day..

We look forward to our return visit

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
347 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel

Property: Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Address: Blarney Village, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the grounds of Blarney Woollen Mills in the heart of Blarney Village, this stunning hotel resides in an old woollen mill originally built in 1823. Our family run hotel boasts cosy bedrooms with flat screen television, exquisite Irish cuisine and classic afternoon teas. Furthermore, a short walk takes you to the gates of the world famous Blarney castle, Blarney stone and gardens. Bedrooms at The Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel combine period architecture and antique furnishings with modern amenities. Decorated in warm colours, featuring high ceilings, our front facing rooms overlook Blarney Castle. The breakfast includes a traditional Irish breakfast as well as a continental option. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, ample free parking, a fully equipped gym, traditional pub & restaurant facilities, with public transport directly outside the complex. Blarney Village which is steeped in history & folklore is a great choice for travellers interested in visiting Cork city (approximately 9km) & county. Whether you are looking for crafts, food, folklore or fashion, it's all here under the rambling roofs of Blarney Woollen Mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing