We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We chose this hotel originally for its location and having visited Blarney before we knew what a perfect location it would be for our visit. The staff as ever where very polite and helpful, the room was spacious albeit the view from the window wasn't very scenic however it wasnt chosen for that reason. The hotel wwas also very quiet which suited us to a tee. The breakfast in the restaurant was lovely, although we didn't partake in the full Irish what we had was enough. We aslo had an evening meal one night and i must admit it was the biggest bowl of pasta i had ever tackled and it was hot till the last mouthfull. Had a cream tea one afternoon and it was delightful. Perfectly located within the village with easy access to the famous Woolen Mills Shop and Blarney Castle. If we ever need a hotel to stay in again in Blarney this will be the one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyHorgan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    174
    70
    21
    19
See reviews for
117
220
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

clean and comfortable room. ideal location for touring and staff very nice but disappointed with restaurant facility- great for day trips/lunches etc but not comfortable for residents. Hard uncomfortable chairs,people wandering through and poor atmosphere for evening meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan_barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I were driving aimlessly in Cork around midnight (long story) with no where to stay and all the hotels in Cork were booked. Eventually the hotel we were supposed to stay at directed us to this one. We were thankful to have found a room at midnight, and going to Blarney Castle the next day anyway, so this was convenient and super cheap. Fortunately we were so tired by the time we got there, that we slept peacefully despite the hard-as-the-floor mattress and uncomfortable sheets. The bathroom was roomy, and the shower was good. That's really the only nice things I can say about this hotel, other than the location is ideal for visiting Blarney Castle and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffanytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Went to blarney woolen mills for a night away with the wife, checked into our roomand it was a squaty dirty box room at the end of the hotel overlooking two roofs !! Went and complained and got moved to a presidential room which wasn't much better, very out dated and dingy, killed the whole mood for us so come 5 o clock we went down and had our meal as it was included in the deal as they wouldn't give us our money back because we wanted to leave, the staff in the resturaunt / cantine were very under trained I even saw one girls sneeze into a napkin and then put the napkin into a basket and proceed to put bread in itand give toa customer!! So needless to say we left when we saw thatand hit for home as we could not get our money back!! Ruined what was supposed to be a nice night away for my wife and I!! Don't go there unless you are a tourist which it is full of, it's a bad image to be giving tourists letting them think that Irish hotels are like this and it's acceptable!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I expected a hotel with a view of Blarney. What I got was a corner room with claustrophobic views of two rooves. The windows which are large are in front of another window which has only a tiny portion which opens. There was an overwhelming smell of room freshener or perfume in the room. However the staff were excellent and changed my room. However as they were full, they did relet the room. Check prices with the hotel as they are even cheaper than on the internet. €49 per room per night. One internet site says it has a swimming pool, it doesn't! There was a hospitality tray but there are no toiletries in the room, other than fixed dispensers. Difficult when you are having a bath and it is at shower height. And by the way, there was a "generator" running all night outside my second room. Staff were very friendly and efficient. No sign of management.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I won a trip through a Wheel of Fortune trip (US) to Ireland and your Hotel was one of the spots they chose for us. I am so glad they did !! The staff were extremely friendly and I absolutely loved the attention to detail in the restaurant and shop and the kindness of the staff. Loved it. You are doing something right for sure. I shall recommend you to friends as a definite place to stay if they come to Ireland. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angjulsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Had a lovely stay in The Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel 3*. Arrived late on Saturday night for a two nights stay and were surprised and delighted to be upgraded to a beautiful suite!. Reception staff,especially Marion were so friendly and helpful. The Mill restaurant was really great for breakfast and evening meals. We ate there thoughout our stay as food was excellent. Eddie and his staff were so friendly and gave such wonderful service. The Blarney Woollen Mills shop, The Meadows and Byrne shop and Christy<s Bar attached to hotel are great for a visit and are so handy to have in the grounds of the hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent as its right in the centre of Blarney and right beside the Castle. A great base while traveling around West Cork.

Room Tip: We just asked for a room facing the Castle !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
351 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,458 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel

Property: Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
Address: Blarney Village, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the grounds of Blarney Woollen Mills in the heart of Blarney Village, this stunning hotel resides in an old woollen mill originally built in 1823. Our family run hotel boasts cosy bedrooms with flat screen television, exquisite Irish cuisine and classic afternoon teas. Furthermore, a short walk takes you to the gates of the world famous Blarney castle, Blarney stone and gardens. Bedrooms at The Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel combine period architecture and antique furnishings with modern amenities. Decorated in warm colours, featuring high ceilings, our front facing rooms overlook Blarney Castle. The breakfast includes a traditional Irish breakfast as well as a continental option. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, ample free parking, a fully equipped gym, traditional pub & restaurant facilities, with public transport directly outside the complex. Blarney Village which is steeped in history & folklore is a great choice for travellers interested in visiting Cork city (approximately 9km) & county. Whether you are looking for crafts, food, folklore or fashion, it's all here under the rambling roofs of Blarney Woollen Mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing