We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pond House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pond House B&B
Ranked #15 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pond house was one of the highlights of our 16 days in Ireland. Tom is an absolutely welcoming host and quite the consumate storyteller. The house was very charming and we found the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Tom cooked an absolutely delicious breakfast and we had a great time talking to him and listening to his varied experiences. We reluctantly had to leave Pond house and move on to our next stay. Unfortunately we only had a single night to stay there, but as soon as we can, we plan to go back for more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Va
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved Tom and his Family, what a great host. It was our first B&B and we will never have another like it. Bring a bottle of wine and stay up with Tom and enjoy the stories that will follow. The shower is small but as are most in the country. The breakfast is big enough to keep you full till an early dinner.

Room Tip: try the local pub the "The Waterloo Inn"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restaurant_lover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night at Tom's B and B, Pond House so we could get up early and hit the Blarney Castle. We had a lovely time. Tom was a great and entertaining host and cooked a great breakfast. We were at the castle in a hop, skip and jump in the morning and beat almost all the tour buses!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are up for lively conversation and lots of laughs, you have GOT to stay at Pond House B&B. Tom Looney is an absolute hoot - OMG, we had so much fun!! We arrived very late - too late to find an open restuarant, so out of the goodness of his heart, he prepared us an evening dinner, God bless him!! After dinner we stayed up til late hours talking and laughing - what a blast - we were talking about it all the rest of our trip to Ireland and Scotland. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and I had a delicious traditional Irish breakfast next morning. Tom prepared (with a little impish ribbing) a plentiful vegan breakfast for my daughter. Pond House is in walking distance to Blarney Castle and Woolen Mills, and a short ride to Cork City so it's a great base choice for touring. I would make Pond House and a visit with Tom an absolute must-stay on a return trip - Thank You for a wonderful time, Tom!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I just stayed here and loved it! Tom is just great! He recommended this great place to eat down the road instead of going to the big down where all the tourists go. Tom was such a great guy and he was one of our most enjoyable parts of the trip that we will always talk about. Thank you Tom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port orange, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tom is witty and whimsical in nature and a good host.

The room was spacious and he cooks good to boot (like he brags)! LOL

A good place near Blarney Castle...

Good knowldge of plants and such that are growing at the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naugybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were in Ireland for 14 days and this was our favorite B&B!! Tommy was so funny and nice, we could have spent hours talking to him! We went to the pub across the street and met his neighbor and doctor (both were just as sweet and funny). Tommy is an excellent cook (he used to cook on a fishing boat), and a great host. We could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
0.2 mi away
Blarney Castle Hotel
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muskerry Arms
Muskerry Arms
#5 of 25 in Blarney
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pond House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pond House B&B

Property: Pond House B&B
Address: Waterloo Road | Knocknasuff, Blarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing