We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel; great hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blarney Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel; great hosts.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My three companions and I had an unfortunate experience in Dublin recently but the minute we arrived at the Blarney Castle Hotel we were embraced in warmth and hospitality. Our rooms were absolutely perfect and chef Marie's freshly baked scones were out of this world! We can't thank Una and Ian enough for extending their wonderful Irish welcome. We will definately make a return visit!

Susan Little, Clearwater, Florida

Room Tip: You can enjoy the fragrant flower filled window boxes in the rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    81
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
93
116
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were just staying the night and to be charged 110 Euros for myself and my 14 year old son was a bit much, however it was getting late and we were tired and hungry. A young man helped us up the stairs with our bags - no lift and I had sore knees from climbing mountains. The room was big, I had a double and my son the single, and the bathroom was old but done up with all the mod cons and I appreciated the bath - although getting out was another issue, the bar on the wall didn't look sturdy. I was told check was 11am and later after we checked out found out it was 12 noon, that extra hour would have been better for us. Breakfast was nice, a good variety although what I wanted wasn't available, but could only have one glass of juice. We had dinner at the hotel which was average priced very nice, the waitresses were very busy talking with each other instead of attending to us, the lounge was old-fashioned and the seats stained and dirty, it needs some refurbishment. There was entertainment that night but old-fashioned Barry Manilow / John Denver style, so we went to bed, unfortunately we could hear the music plainly upstairs til midnight, but from a distance having a bath it was ok. I stayed in 8 B&Bs / Hotels around Ireland and this was the dearest, and as Cork is my home city I felt let down. ps. I was at the back/side and my view was a roof top and scaffolding, their were workmen next to me so I couldn't open the curtains.

Room Tip: beware - no lift and there's 2 floors I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Vivienne, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Any person over the age of 12 is considered full price which unfortunately is standard practice in Ireland. We do not have a lift in the hotel and there is always help nearby to assist guests with luggage. Check out is always at 12 noon and can be later should a guest wish for same. We serve breakfast daily till 11.30am and offers an excellent choice for guests and customers alike. We recently got new carpet and seating which most people like which was a considerable investment. Blarney Castle Hotel is a old world hotel with lots of charm. On the night there was entertainment by John Spillane who is a well known singer in Cork and is popular with people. He usually plays quite a varied amount of songs to suit everyone taste and finishes about 11.30pm. There is building work at present ( and almost finished) who are completing work adjacent to us. Many thanks for your comments. Regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On the recommendation of our B&B lady we decided to go down to listen to the Irish Music and Irish Night they had to offer. We firstly decided to have something to eat in The Lemon Tree Restaurant. The food was excellent and the restaurant was occupied with a few other guests also. The Beef and Guinness Casserole Dish was absolutely delicious. The quality of beef was perfect. The dessert which was apple and blackberry pie also hit the right buttons. I really loved it. We waited on till 9.30 till the music began and it was just terrific. It was just what I thought it would be and more. It was a fabulous experience. Margaret really made all the people feel and ease and encouraged everyone to dance . Thank you so much for making our holiday a really special and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay for the Irish Music- a real treat for anyone who wants to experience irish music
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlady s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful treat. The owner came to great us at our check in, and made it clear if there was anything that could be done to make our experience better to ask him. Later on in the night we saw him in the bar, where he re-assured if there was anything he can do to make our stay better we should let him know, he introduced us to some locals,where they and himself joined us in great conversation. Also the live entertainment was very good, and they offer it most nights.
A short walk to all the attractions and very unique rooms to keep the tradition feeling. Me and me wife both highly recommend this hotel--- and advise to ask for the owner and buy him a pint of Heineken for me

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Blarney Castle Hotel. We offer excellent traditional irish music every Tuesday( all year round) and Wednesday evenings( Summer time only) from 9.30pm onwards. There are a core group of musicians who play traditional Authentic Irish Music together with Margaret McCarthy who plays the fiddle( which is now over 300 years old) and dances at the same time. This is a wonderful treat for locals and guests alike. On the Wednesday evening a local group of set dancers together with Margaret come together again to entertain people. On occasion guests join in which is also wonderful to listen to. Thank you so much for your comments and we hope you come back again. With kind regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Blarney Castle Hotel for two nights as part of a tour of Ireland.

Our room was sizable and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, but space for the dopp kit was limited. Ample hot water. The room wasn't air conditioned, but the windows opened - unfortunately, we were directly above the entrance to the bar, so opening the window also let in some noise.

Breakfast was included with the room. There was no buffet, but one could order just about anything. The breakfast parfait was very popular.

The hotel offers free WiFi, but it was extremely erratic. At times I could detect as many as three different signals, but couldn't connect with any of them - even when standing right next to the router at the desk in the lobby. And unfortunately, the hotel staff was clueless about WiFi matters.

An interesting aspect of the Blarney Castle is that their bookeeping system is totally manual - as in notes scribbled in paper notebooks. Your final bill is hand written. That presents a bit of a challenge if you charge something to your room the night before you leave because it is likely that the evening charges won't have been transferred to the master notebook. And while the staff clearly means well and wants to be helpful, they are obviously overwhelmed and a bit 'scattered'.

The hotel is centrally located in Blarney, only steps away from Blarney Castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest, I thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and note same. I would like to point out as we do to all guests on arrival we offer cooked breakfasts to order and are not Buffet Style. All breakfasts are fresh and not under heating for several hours for guests. We do not have air conditioning in any of our guest rooms as we have plenty of clean unpolluted air in the area. We offer free wifi to all guests which I would like to point out is no challenge to the staff of the hotel. All of our staff are fully clued in in all aspects of the hotel. All of our staff either full time or part time are fully aware of the services we provide to all guests. Our staff are an excellent asset to the hotel and they are fully competent on all aspects of book keeping which we are thankful for. We recently updated the restaurant, Killowen Room which we use as our function room and guest rooms which are all in excellent condition. With kind regards Una Forrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a couple of nites,the staff go out of there way for that special service to please you. The food was delicious and rooms were big, roomy, comfortable, clean. Recommend to anyone to stay there very enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. All of our staff here are excellent and endeavor for guests and customers to enjoy their experience with us. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again.

With kind regards

Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Blarney Castle Hotel epitomised the warm hospitable welcome that the Irish are so famous for. Each and every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. Our (very heavy) suitcase was delivered to our room without any fuss, and before our pints of Guiness at the hotel bar were even settled. From the receptionist (Connie was charm personified), to the waitress, the bar staff, all made us feel very welcome, and were all Irish (which is unfortunately increasingly rare). Our room was immaculate. The interior design (with the exception of the bathroom, very modern), was slightly dated, but it felt in keeping with the authentic experience and unique non-chain-Marriott-seen-it-all-before-style that so many hotel rooms have nowadays. Highly recommended and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time too post a review of your experience. Your opinion matters as it is an important tool to find out if we are doing our job right. All of our staff enjoy working here and are genuinely interested in helping guests while staying at the hotel and enjoy having the friendly banter with guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope you return to us again in the future. With kind regards Una Forrest..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Castle Hotel

Property: Blarney Castle Hotel
Address: Blarney Castle Hotel The Square, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarney Castle Hotel was established in 1837 and is still run by the Forrest Family. Blarney Castle Hotel is ideally located on the village square of the picturesque village. We offer excellent guest accommodation. Our restaurant The Lemon Tree Restaurant is opened daily from 7.30 Am till 9.30Pm daily, 7 days a week. Breakfast is served to guests and is also opened to the public. We offer a superior breakfast in the area all of which is cooked to order with a simply delicious choice. All of our produce is sourced locally and we pride ourselves in offering good value for money on our excellent quality of food. Lunch is served daily both in the Main Bar and The Lemon Tree Restaurant from 12 noon onwards till 9.30Pm daily. Our main bar is known locally as "Johnny's" is an unspoilt bar in the village and offers an excellent selection of beers, wines and ales. We have Traditional Music playing every Tuesday from 9.30Pm. On Wednesday(Summer Months only) at 8pm we also have Set Dancing together with Margaret Mccarthy and Music to entertain our guests and locals alike. We also have music on Saturday and Sunday. We also have a function room called the "Killowen Room" which can cater for parties and family occasions with a maximum of 120 guests. Free wifi accessibility throughout the hotel. Blarney Castle Hotel continues to be the focal point in Blarney for the locals and also with guests passing through to visit the Blarney Castle or to visit the Blarney Woollen Mills . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Blarney Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing