We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashlee Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashlee Lodge
Ranked #10 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed at Ashlee Lodge recently and were very impressed. Our room was luxurious and spacious, the towels were soft and fluffy, the dressing gowns and slippers complimentary and the breakfast absolutely out of this world. We used the outdoor hot tub on a sunny afternoon but not the sauna. We can also recommend the Blairs Inn which is only a short drive from Ashlee Lodge. First class food and a warm Irish welcome.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and breakfast
  • Disliked — No views
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stay1or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
81
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lahinch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

Just stayed at the wonderful Ashee Lodge in Blarney and found it to be absolutely perfect. A little gem of a lodge with super breakfasts, the best rooms and very accommodating owners.
Perfect for a quiet relaxing getaway.
Try a glass of Champagne in the hot tub sheer bliss!!!

  • Liked — peace and quiet & hot tub
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank golfer036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

More of a fancy B&B than "luxury hotel".

It is not just outside Blarney but in the village of Tower. It takes 8 mins to drive to Blarney; certainly not possible to walk. Website very misleading. We had planned to stroll into Blarney for dinner in evening but found this not possible, had to drive so had to take it in turns to have a drink!

Restaurant with garden view is converted garage with patio doors to front of house overlooking front garden with large expanse of tarmac.
Food mediocre. Chairs so uncomfortable, tiled floor, cold atmosphere.

Sauna situated on upstairs landing opposite bedroom doors. Fine if you don't mind crossing landing in your robe!

Make sure you are decent if ordering breakfast to room as after one knock they burst in with tray, no time to grab robe.

Felt ripped off, thought we were going to "luxury boutique hotel" as stated on website.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — too far from blarney
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mog84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Ireland for the first time with our two daughters (ages 9 & 11) and chose to stay at the Ashlee Lodge on our first night. Since there wasn't a family room available, we booked two rooms. Our host kindly moved other guests around so that the rooms were side by side. The rooms were well furnished, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good as well. Our stay afforded us a good night's rest and a fresh start to our vacation.

Travelers should note that rooms cannot be guaranteed before 2:00 pm. We did arrive early but were told to come back at that time. Luckily, Blarney Castle is nearby along with the Blarney Woolen Mills and we enjoyed a nice visit before check-in.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No grounds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dohertyfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed in the Ashlee Lodge in May 2007, and although the accommodation facilities are good, the level of service experienced was far below par.

We booked the accommodation on the internet, and at the time a dinner was offered at the hotel as part of a special offer.

We arrived at approximately 21:10 at the hotel, as we had a long day driving and exploring in Ireland. Upon arrival we enquired about the dinner, only to be informed that we arrived late and that our dinner had been forfeited. The host then informed us that all other restaurants (except for a Thai Restaurant) are closed, as all restaurants in Ireland generally close at 21:00. We declined the offer of the Thai Restaurant, and used our GPS device in the vehice to locate a restaurant. We found a restaurant open not more than 2 kilometres from the hotel.

The next morning upon our departure we were billed in full for our forfeited dinner. This is hard to comprehend, as no food was prepared, and the hotel incurred no expenses. The hosts offered no explanation for this.

Overall, we cannot recommend this hotel, as the level of service experienced was below that expected from a hotel of this nature.

  • Liked — The room was clean and had all the amenities we required (e.g hairdryer etc)
  • Disliked — The level of service experienced from the hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacques17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

Anne and John are superb hosts! The hotel accommodation was the best in our travels through Ireland and the food was spectacular.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and comfortable room.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2005

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary in june this year, stayed in the master suite and it exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect and anything you asked for was no problem.
Anne and John cannot do enough for the guests and you get a really warm welcome from the minute you arrive till the time you leave.
The food was superb, if you stay here definetely have dinner here, we only had it one night out of our two night stay and only wish we had eaten here on both nights.
Can't wait to visit again, congratulations to Anne and John on an oustanding little piece of luxury in Blarney.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlee Lodge

Property: Ashlee Lodge
Address: Tower | near Cork City, Blarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ashlee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlee Hotel Blarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing