We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Blarney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, VT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot in Blarney”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Norman was a great host. The room was clean, quiet and had great wifi for our 15-year old. We only stayed one night, so we really did not get a chance to visit with Val. Norman was entertaining and had great tips about where to go for some fun nightlife. A short downhill walk to the village. Also, he knows all the cab drivers, so just hopping in a cab all I had to say was "We're staying with Norman."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clamdigger1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here the week of July 31st and the family room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was the best we had the entire week we were in Ireland. Norm and Val are great hosts. There isn't a common area, but there is a grassy area out front where kids can play catch if you are traveling with younger children. Very good location to explore the Cork area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 971debstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently vacationed in Ireland and had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful bed and breakfast. I was vacationing with my mom and my sister and a friend of the family, it was our first trip abroad and we were a little leary of making specific plans. We wanted to be able to take in all that things that we wanted without being rushed so we did not make reservations. We simple went from town to town at our leisure with a book of bed and breakfast. We ended this particular day at Blarney Castle and called the gentleman came to meet us so that we did not get lost and then assisted up with unloading our bags. The house is beautiful decorated and with very modern rustic feel. The family is very friendly and full of wonderful knowledge and recommendations for travelers such as ourselves. The breakfast was also absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850worldtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I'd had a bad day and I was traveling alone. Valerie was sympathetic and thoughtful. She directed me where to find a good dinner and told me how to find the castle. The beds there are orthopedic and I slept wonderfully. Breakfast was hot and more than I could have hoped for. The Dawes helped me out with my luggage and stood out front waving as I drove away. I recommend staying a couple of nights here if you want to unwind and really see the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Can't say enough about this place. Norman and his wife are welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast is top notch: features a menu (unreal options), homemade scones and jam, a cereal bar and fresh fruit. The quality is outstanding! Best breakfast in Ireland thus far.

Thank you for our fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YasmineKTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Beechwood is a nice comfy and friendly B&B, a short drive from the Castle. The double room with en-suite was clean and welcoming, complete with tea/coffee. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. We would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I found the room small with no desk - adequate for me as I was travelling alone. The bath/toilet was also very small.

The website says a 10 minute stroll from Blarney ...... would need to be going much quicker than strolling! ....and certainly not a 2 minute drive from Blarney Castle as another reviewer stated. However still close enough to Blarney that the location is fine (and yes you can walk but allow yourself 20 minutes.

The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked - I had the Irish breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato). There was also home made scones and brown bread plus a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast etc)

Room Tip: Given other reviewers have said their room was spacious ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
0.7 mi away
Blarney Castle Hotel
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blarney Woollen Mills Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Muskerry Arms Boutique Lodging
0.3 mi away
Davmar Bed & Breakfast
Davmar Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 25 in Blarney
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Station Road | Blarney Co Cork, Blarney 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at beechwood house B&B Blarney accommodation. Only a 15 min stroll down hill from blarney village, the famous Blarney castle, a selection of shops, pubs and restaurants.Beechwood house is ideally situated for visiting cork city, jameson hertage centre,cobh hertage centre, fota wildlife park, golf,fishing, Kinsale and many more wonderfull sights, we will provide you with helpfull directions and information to all there attractions.Relax and enjoy our peacefull gardens, have a coffee and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing