We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maranatha Country House
Ranked #2 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
“Irish hospitality at its best”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Well, we stayed here in October 2008 and have just confirmed a second booking for 2010. Having stayed in accomodation at various locations across the globe, none yet have come near the warmth and hospitality provided by the gracious hosts, Doug and Olwen. They could'nt do enough to make us feel at home and to accommodate the needs of our two young children.
We were so impressed by the old world feel of this beautiful country manor with all the modern trappings. The delectable Irish breakfast in the stunning conservatory keeps you going for the day whilst you enjoy the scenic surrounds of the Irish country side. Interestingly, there is also an amazing family history to this house and the nearby Hydro.
After a long day on the road, we returned to the drawing room at Maranatha Country House to be greeted by a warm glowing open fire-exactly what we needed after the days activities--and then retired to our room for a sound sleep. It is our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
125
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville KY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is beautiful country home surrounded by spacious grounds outside of Blarney. My husband and I stayed with teenage son and the room was very large. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet had fresh fruit and nice variety of cereals. Douglas and Olwen were very warm and welcoming to us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1nacarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Finally, I booked far enough ahead at Maranatha so we could stay! It was a lovely and welcoming experience. Our only disappointment was that we had not booked for a longer stay!!!!!!! Olwen is a gracious hostess who immediately makes you feel that you are so welcomed to her home. The home and grounds are lovely. Returning home to New Orleans, we immediately began making plans to stay again. This home is not to be missed and is in a perfect location for day trips to include a visit to Ballymaloe and the village of Ballycotton. Thank you Olwen for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npsNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

The Bed and Breakfast was simply wonderful. The hostess was friendly. Great breakfast. Rooms are large. We booked a twin room and it had 2 double beds. Usually you get 2 twin beds.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cagdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Ok, the hostess does hand you a religious pamphlet when you leave (but no preaching or pressure) and the rooms were very feminine, but even if you don't love the decor, how can you not appreciate this place? The hostess was so typically friendly, as I found most Irish people to be, and my welfare seemed to be her top priority. Of course, during breakfast I saw that the well-being of all her guests was a top priority, as she scurried around bringing us a delicious breakfast despite having hurt her back the night before.
I found this place an absolute delight, and even though the room was so sickenly feminine (I am a solo guy traveling) the hostess has poured her heart and soul into this house to ensure her guests have an excellent stay, and she surely does achieve the result. A bit off the beaten path, but so worth it I would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The hostess was the definition of accomadating
  • Disliked — The feminine decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Canuckker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2008

When we took the Taxi to the Maranatha House, we thought we had made a mistake in selecting this B & B because it seemed a little out of the way. Then we pulled up to the house. We were blown away with the beautiful home and grounds. We stayed in the Rose Room and felt like Princesses. The canopy beds were beautiful. Olwen and Douglas were charming and made us feel so welcome. And it was really only a few minutes from Blarney where our friends were staying and was a perfect location. I would highly recommend the Maranatha House to everyone.

  • Liked — It was luxurious but comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing. Could not have asked for anything more.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

The house and grounds were lovely, the breakfast room was outstanding, and the host was gracious.

  • Liked — Wonderful facilities
  • Disliked — Hard-to-find location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_McCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,466 reviews
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha Country House

Property: Maranatha Country House
Address: Marantha Country House Saint Ann's Hill | Tower, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroll through the beautiful private gardens and woodlands surrounding this lovely Victorian mansion. Spacious romantic bedrooms. Beautiful historic antiques throughout. Ideally located for day trips to both east and west Cork and Kerry. Rates for bed and breakfast from €35 to €60 per person sharing per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maranatha Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Country Hotel
Hotel Maranatha Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing