We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blarney Castle”

Blarney Castle & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.96*
and up
Blarney Castle Day Tour from Dublin including Blarney Stone
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated 8km from Cork City, this historic castle is most famous for its stone, which has the traditional power of conferring eloquence on all who kiss it. The word Blarney was introduced into the English language by Queen Elizabeth I and is described as pleasant talk, intended to deceive without offedning. The stone is set in the wall below the battlements, and to kiss it one has to lean backwards (grasping an iron railing) from the parapet walk. LAST ADMISSION IS 60 MINS BEFORE CLOSING TIME
Luton England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Blarney Castle”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Blarney Castle two weeks ago, a good choice as there were no queues! Ten euro entry fee which included a lovely walk through a park with a lovely stream. Approaching the castle there is a keep where intruders were held and there is access to the prison cells but it is creepy and not for the unsteady which included we to 70+ ladies. How ever nothing daunted we climbed to the top of the castle, again although there are rope all the way, not for the very unsteady, especially coming down but I relied on the sailor style of coming down backwards which really worked. We had no intention of doing the scary bit of kissing the stone with only feet being held for safety. How ever since my sister visited years ago there have been back -stay hand rails and also still get the assitance of men who are a real laugh. So we did it! There are toilets at the entrance and a gift shop where photos can be collected. A really enjoyable afternoon and we were so blessed with gorgeous weather.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank prat2007chett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,360
    1,348
    248
    62
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the gardens just as much as the castle.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The castle was really nice and a great place to visit. I didn't expect the gardens and grounds to be so nice and well looked after. There were so many places to walk around and discover that it's not just about kissing the Blarney stone! The stairs to get up to the stone are quite narrow. We arrived just as the grounds were opening so we didn't have a problem with long lines. It was a lot of fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rooney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No kissing Blarney Rock”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The castle grounds are beautiful the grounds are well kept . the ruins are nice need to wear good shoes stairs are very narrow if you have problem climbing do not do the castle just enjoy the property lot to do and see. carry an umbrella or Poncho rain comes any time and gift shop is pricey for Poncho,Great picnic area if you donot want to purchace food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathikay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillimh, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having lived in Cork previoulsy and only coming from Galway, I decided it was about time I visited Blarney castle so went along on this trip. Dogs were allowed in the grounds on the lead so we went for an amazing walk. Realised I should have brought a map though! :-) Sort of ended up combining the 2 longest walks but was worth it. Amazing, tranquil areas, just lost in nature.

When we were finished the walk, my dog got to rest while I went into the castle. Bit nerve racking for me who is scared of heights but I made it to the top, said hi to the stone (honestly I don't need any more gift of the gab) and managed to admire the views once I relaxed.

Really lovely afternoon but I would go back as I had given 3hrs and honestly wasn't enough to see everything. It was way bigger than I thought and still lots more to see.

Enough tourists travel to these places and yet us Irish take them for granted. Would highly recommend more local people checking out the fantastic things our country has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank emc2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well when in Ireland, you have to go kiss the blarney stone.
worth the visit and stay in the town if possible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Despardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blarney Castle & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Blarney Castle & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing