We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful experience - definite recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadow Bank B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadow Bank B&B
Ranked #14 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience - definite recommendation”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Meadowbank last week and were absolutely delighted with the experience.
The house is beautiful, the rooms were more than well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and the room was warm.
Breakfast was most satisfying and plentyful - great selection and very well prepared and presented.
Our hosts Carol and Tom were the kindest and most helpful couple we have ever come accross in our travels - not afraid to go out of their way for us when we asked.
Definitely one of the very best experiences I have had in over 20 years of professional and leisurely travel. We will be back to stay again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The room was very nice. Had everything we needed. We slept very well in a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here very spur of the moment a few weeks ago and were so glad we found this place! After deciding we didn't want to stay in Cork, we drove out towards Blarney later in the afternoon (on a bank holiday weekend) hoping we would find a good place, and we did! Carol was so welcoming and accomodating, and had the perfect room all ready for us. It was clean and beautiful with a good size shower and hair dryer in the room. It is a 5 minute walk to Blarney Castle (so you can beat the crowds in the morning!) and there is a really great pub right down the street with excellent food and nightly music. There's also a shopping area 5 minutes walk if shopping is your thing. Carol let us pick our time for breakfast and prepared a great Irish feast for us in the morning. We liked it so much we used it as our base and stayed an extra night! I would definately recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

With in walking distance of the Blarney Woolin Mills and Blarney Castle. All pubs are close by and a bus stop is near to take you into Cork for the day if you'd like. The location is excellent.
Our room was nice and breakfast was good and filling. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minmay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I could not say enough about Carol, the host. We pulled up (after a very long day) at around 7:30 pm, and she greeted us with open arms. She showed us where to go for dinner, she offers a "wake up" call, she served AMAZING breakfast (my husband had the typical Irish and I had waffles), and then spent about 30 minutes with us telling us where to go, what to see, and where to stay on our next day (oustide of Blarney on our way back to Dublin). Very nice lady, very clean room. Bed was very comfortable. One of our favorite places, too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Within walking distance to Blarney and all attractions. The room we stayed in - needed attention in respect of squeaky doors and the beds could have been a better quality. In comparison to other Bed & Breakfasts - the breakfast was basic. No fruit with cereal and if you didn't like marmalade it was toast and butter. One glass of juice and if you weren't a tea drinker it was water.We found the Carol to judgemental and abbrasive in her attitude . - not to mention the list of does and dont's in very small type taped to the wall next to the bathroom. The house was clean & tidy and the husband pleasant to talk to. We would not stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Arrived in Blarney at 9:30pm and happened to select this B&B. Driving up the driveway, you are immediately in a lovely garden setting with manicured lawns and lovely flowers. Carol was a personable hostess, very warm and helpful but not intrusive. Great beds, clean pressed linens and amazing number of electrical outlets for cell phones, GPS and laptop. Enjoyed a pleasant Irish fry breakfast and was out the door rested and happy. And no stairs to haul suitcases up - heaven! Close to Blarney Castle and Mills. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LendaEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Our stay in Meadowbank was brief but very enjoyable. Hostess Carol was extremely helpful, house and rooms were very clean, breakfast was delicious and location was fantastic, very very central. Money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Bank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Bank B&B

Property: Meadow Bank B&B
Address: Blarney Village, Blarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meadow Bank B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing