We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Lis-Ardagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lis-Ardagh Lodge
Ranked #53 of 405 County Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Short break”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well what can I say what a fab b&b!! Everything about our stay was 1st class the welcome and hospitality shown by carol and jim was second to none, their knowledge of the area and great places to see and things to do. The lodge Is set in beautiful gardens all which were in full bloom just fantastic, we felt very at home the rooms large very clean and comfortable great Irish breakfast too, thanks carol and jim, we will be back

Room Tip: All rooms looked to a high spec
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
66
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this lovely lodge, the room was nicer than most 4 star hotels, Carol & Jim were very welcoming and the food was fabulous! We would highly recommended staying at the Lis-Ardagh lodge to anyone planning to visit this area and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

One of the best B&B's I've had the pleasure of staying in and I have stayed in a few on business or pleasure, the warmest of welcome awaits all visitors by owners Carol & Jim and it is an ideal base to explore local coast line and towns. rooms are large comfortable, clean with tea/coffee with lovely gardens around the property, a good selection for breakfast from a full Irish to fruit or cereal's, short walk/drive to local restaurant's/bars in village or slightly further drive to nearest town, Dinty's restaurant/bar in the village is well worth a visit, fish was as fresh as it could be unless you catch and cook it yourself. Already planning our next visit which hopefully will be later in the year, only an hour drive from Cork airport. Thanks Carol & Jim for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are of same size clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from West Cork where my daughter and I stayed at the Lis-Ardagh Lodge. We would normally stay in a hotel, but due to lack of availability opted for a B&B. We could not have made a better choice as this was the making of our weekend. Carol and Jim were wonderful, gave us a warm welcome and made us feel immediately at home. Our room was lovely - The beds so comfortable with good quality linens, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, everything that you would find in a top class hotel, just cosier. The best part was looking out on Carol and Jim's wonderful garden where I could have happily sat all day. Union Hall is just a stone's throw away where you can enjoy a beer or a lovely glass of wine in Moloney's or their special fish&chips on Friday evening. Also, wonderful walks and the sea is never far away. Thanks Carol and Jim for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suitable for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineK459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I could write a story about the wonderful, magical experience we had at this lovely lodge. The room: nicer than most 4 star hotels. The hosts: kind, hospitable, and friendly. The food: Out of this world! The property was like a botanical garden. The moment we arrived we decided to stay longer and immediately booked extra nights. I told Carol that I was interested in whale watching and she immediately got on the phone with the boat captain to check availability. I will return to West Cork for its beauty and will stay at no other place than the Lis-Ardagh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our first B&B of our tour in Ireland, and i should say, we did not find any other B&B that could rival with Jim & Carol's.
Whether you are looking for a warm hospitality (they are genuinely happy to take time to discuss and share !), splendid spacious and confortable rooms (incredibly neat & clean, with a little "like at home" feel), or whether you are hungrily waiting for the morning breakfast (abundant, excellent and, again, served with generousity and kindness .. special mention for the home-made jam!!!).
And if you are lucky, you may even spot the fox that comes in the garden !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in this b&b for 2 nights recently and just absolutely loved it. We have booked to stay there again later in the year as we were so impressed by everything about it. Beautiful spacious house set in really beautiful grounds, large comfortable bedrooms, wonderful breakfasts but most of all the warmth of Carol & Jim. Highly recommended... You won't find better than this gem!

Room Tip: All rooms are large and lovely, one has an adjoining twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these County Cork hotels
6.6 mi away
Bethel Guesthouse
Bethel Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Rosscarbery
35 reviews
3.8 mi away
PK Lodge
PK Lodge
#4 of 12 in Skibbereen
71 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cuan Dor B&B
Cuan Dor B&B
#4 of 8 in Rosscarbery
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View House Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#9 of 12 in Skibbereen
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lis-Ardagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lis-Ardagh Lodge

Property: Lis-Ardagh Lodge
Address: Union Hall | West Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in County Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for bed and breakfast or a self-catering holiday, Lis-Ardagh Lodge in Union Hall is the perfect base from which to explore picturesque West Cork. And with our gym and sauna, a relaxing break is more than assured. Skibbereen, Clonakilty, Glandore and Baltimore are all just a short drive away, whilst walkers can wander along the coast with it's sandy coves, finding archaeology and history all around. Union Hall, a thriving fishing village with an active pier having the third largest fishing fleet in Ireland. Across the bay is Glandore, famous for it's regatta. Sailing, water-skiing, windsurfing and fishing are all possible in the immediate locality. Or you may simply like to relax and enjoy the food and drink in one of the local pubs in either Union Hall or Glandore. Skibbereen is just 8klm away, a busy market town that hosts a wonderful country market every Saturday where people from all over west Cork come to sell their wonderful home grown produce, cheese, breads, jams and crafts. You will also find the Heritage Centre that has a wonderful famine display, and the Lough Hyne Visitors Centre, then just take the Baltimore road and head for Lough Hyne a beautiful salt water marine lake the pride of Ireland's Marine Nature Reserves, a great adventure area for children with the lake for swimming or the woods for walking and discovering our extensive wildlife. This is an ideal location for visiting all areas of West Cork, Mizen Head, Sheeps Head, Bantry and Beara Peninsula. Or take a trip to one of the Islands, Cape Clear, Sherkin, Long, Whiddy or Dursey. Try whale and dolphin wathcing with Colin Barnes he leaves from Union Hall a great day will be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lis-Ardagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lis-Ardagh Lodge Ireland/County Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing