We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A little bit of Heaven"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lis-Ardagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lis-Ardagh Lodge
Ranked #38 of 424 County Cork B&B and Inns
Pall Mall, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"A little bit of Heaven"”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We traveled the south coast for a week in April and stayed each night at a different B&B...this was "by far" the best. Although the setting was a little off the beaten path, it was well worth it. When we arrived we immediately we struck by the beautiful landscaping. Carol was the best ever hostess and made us feel right at home. The room was very large and as clean as my wife {Sheryl] would have our house be. The morning's breakfast was, by itself, worth the stay........homemade and delicious. Carol even went so far as help up plan our itenary and routes to travel along our journey. I would recommend everyone stay here........you won't be disappointed.......a perfect "10!"

Jim and Sheryl Buck buckslodging.com Pall Mall, Tennessee

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimbuckTootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
63
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
great bardfield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

You know you've picked the jackpot when you enter Lis-Ardagh and you meet Carol and Jim. They are the perfect hosts - great fun - and a lot of thought has gone into creating Lis-Ardagh. We had a family re-union nearby so location was ideal. Breakfasts are created with everyone in mind - great fry-ups but fresh fruit and croissants in addition. Our room was fantastic - like a suite - modern, light and roomy. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, and only wish we had had more time to spend there. Couldn't ask for more. And Jim's West Cork accent is a bonus! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wfleischmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were 11 days touring arround Ireland and staying in many B&Bs. This was the best one we stayed in, not only because the house is beautiful and located in a quited place near the nice village of Union Hall and the room was very good, but most of all because of the freindliness of Carol, an excellent person who cared at any time for our good stay. Breakfast was also the best we had in Ireland.
Thanks Carol!

Ferran & Josep

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menorkaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I don't know where to start with this-Lis Ardagh blew both myself and my partner away. We were greeted so warmly by Carol and Jim. They really couldn't have done any more to make us feel more at home. The house is beautiful and our room was better than any hotel we've ever stayed in (we spent a whole year travelling all around the world and some 4 * hotels we stayed in don't compare to Lis Ardagh!). Our room was HUGE, spotless, beautifully decorated (I'm on a hunt for that full length mirror Carol ;) ) and our ensuite was the largest I've ever encountered in any hotel/guesthouse. We spent two nights there and would have happily stayed another! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful both mornings-yummy, fresh, crispy croissants, fresh fruit and a fabulous full Irish! We both enjoyed Jim's sense of humour and he made us feel like we were right at home. He also very kindly dropped us to get our car the morning after the wedding we had attended in a nearby hotel. I really couldn't praise/recommend this guesthouse anymore, it was flawless. We hope to return to West Cork again very soon for a longer stint and when we do we will without a doubt come a knockin' on the door of Lis Ardagh Lodge! Thanks Carol & Jim!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mosull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This B&B is surely the one that we appreciated the most during our trip along the south coast in Ireland. It is a real B&B and not one that pretend to be a B&B but that has more than 10 rooms and looks more like a hotel.
The house is really nice, surrounded by a huge garden. If the weather is good you will be able to enjoy it by having a drink on the terrace or by using the Jacuzzi. Our room was really big and comfortable. The bathroom was also quite nice and big. The breakfast prepared by Carol was really tasty especially the homemade pancakes or the salad prepared with fresh fruits.
We strongly recommend this B&B, you will not be disappointed by this choice. And we want to thanks again Carol for her kindness and the good tips that she gave us to discover the treasuries of Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2011

One of the reasons we chose this B &B was because of all the ‘excellent’ reviews we had read on Trip Advisor…And I am happy to say that we were not disappointed – they are all true!
• Beautiful house
• Breath-taking views
• Spacious 5* accommodation
• Delicious homemade breakfast with lots of choice and variety
• 5* Customer service
• Child-friendly host and hostess
What more could you ask for. We truly had a relaxing time away and would advise anyone visiting the Glandore/Union Hall area to stay at the Lis-Ardagh Lodge. It is indeed a wonderful find!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia_garbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We spent three very happy nights at the Lis-Ardagh Lodge. The B&B is spotlessly clean, our room was spacious and beautifully furnished, breakfast was delicious, and our hosts felt like family. Jim and Carol's B&B was home from home and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these County Cork hotels
10.6 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
5.2 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shearwater Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
PK Lodge
PK Lodge
#4 of 12 in Skibbereen
67 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cuan Dor B&B
Cuan Dor B&B
#3 of 8 in Rosscarbery
21 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ard Na Greine
Ard Na Greine
#5 of 16 in Clonakilty
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lis-Ardagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lis-Ardagh Lodge

Property: Lis-Ardagh Lodge
Address: Union Hall | West Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in County Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for bed and breakfast or a self-catering holiday, Lis-Ardagh Lodge in Union Hall is the perfect base from which to explore picturesque West Cork. And with our gym and sauna, a relaxing break is more than assured. Skibbereen, Clonakilty, Glandore and Baltimore are all just a short drive away, whilst walkers can wander along the coast with it's sandy coves, finding archaeology and history all around. Union Hall, a thriving fishing village with an active pier having the third largest fishing fleet in Ireland. Across the bay is Glandore, famous for it's regatta. Sailing, water-skiing, windsurfing and fishing are all possible in the immediate locality. Or you may simply like to relax and enjoy the food and drink in one of the local pubs in either Union Hall or Glandore. Skibbereen is just 8klm away, a busy market town that hosts a wonderful country market every Saturday where people from all over west Cork come to sell their wonderful home grown produce, cheese, breads, jams and crafts. You will also find the Heritage Centre that has a wonderful famine display, and the Lough Hyne Visitors Centre, then just take the Baltimore road and head for Lough Hyne a beautiful salt water marine lake the pride of Ireland's Marine Nature Reserves, a great adventure area for children with the lake for swimming or the woods for walking and discovering our extensive wildlife. This is an ideal location for visiting all areas of West Cork, Mizen Head, Sheeps Head, Bantry and Beara Peninsula. Or take a trip to one of the Islands, Cape Clear, Sherkin, Long, Whiddy or Dursey. Try whale and dolphin wathcing with Colin Barnes he leaves from Union Hall a great day will be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lis-Ardagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lis-Ardagh Lodge Ireland/County Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing