We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someplace very special”
Review of Glenomra House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenomra House
Ranked #1 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Someplace very special”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one evening in Ennis, but because of Mary's hospitality and the coziness of the Glenomra House, we wished we could have stayed longer.

A quick 10 minute walk into city center, this B&B has a great location. Our room was spacious and very clean. Even though our room faced a busy road, we heard little noise and slept soundly.

Mary is the perfect hostess and made breakfast very special. With her tidy apron on and welcoming smile, we felt more like we were having a holiday breakfast at a favorite aunt's house instead of at a B&B. I've seen the other reviews and I couldn't agree more -- the scones are fantastic. It's worth staying here just to sample one.

Mary was kind enough to give us a lift to the train station to save us another walk into town with our packs on. Her energy and joy was infectious and it could be felt in her home. I would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
122
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Mary was wonderful! Nice place and good breakfast. She makes the best scones in Iteland!! Enjoyed her witty sense of humor. Clean room. Walls are a bit thin, but we weren't really bothered by it. Nice place to make a stop.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This B&B was easy to find and I chose it due to its location near the Cliffs of Moher. We checked into the B&B and then headed to the coast to see the Cliffs of Moher. The B&B was clean and comfortable. The owner was very helpful and even offered us a ride into town (only a few blocks away). We had a car but preferred to walk. The owner recommended the Old Town Hotel for dinner. This was the best restaurant we experienced during our stay in Ireland.
Breakfast was very good, with hot and cold items. We liked the "full Irish breakfast".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porterjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay at the Glenomra House. The location was wonderful, our rooms werer spacious and everything was sparkling clean. We enjoyed the family sitting area downstairs for a card game together. Breakfast was quick and easy, and everything was terrific and home made. Would gladly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in December and thought it was great

nice and warm
comfy bed
clean
great breakfast
and the owner was lovely - a great host

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent one night here before catching our flight home out of Shannon. Mary is an experienced, friendly innkeeper. Rooms were spotless, bathrooms ensuite also spotless, beds were comfortable and breakfast very good. Walking distance to pubs and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stotz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portstewart
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

On a overnight stay to Ennis and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. This is our second visit to Glenomra, Mary is the most gracious, warm host with a very welcoming smile. Her home is exactly what you need on a cold, Dec night.The warmth you will receive from Mary will soon have you warmed up! Easy to find and close to the town. Thank-you Mary for all the extra's that you provide !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macportstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenomra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenomra House

Property: Glenomra House
Address: Glen House Glenomra House Limerick Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing