We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room for 3”
Review of Railway View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway View House
Ranked #13 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Room for 3”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our family room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Not quite as close to the centre of town as we thought, but still within walking distance and we had a great meal at Brogan's which had been recommended.

Room Tip: Plenty of room for 3, in fact the most spacious we've had (for 2 sisters and our Mum).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived in Ennis late, all hotels (2 of them) full on a Tuesday night, might be a business opportunity for someone with a plot of land. Had to search around for a B&B, Huge advantage is parking at this B&B, its down a lane way off road, feels very safe and secluded. All the others I looked at were on-street or just (barely) off-street paring. The owners couldn't do enough for me. The landlady was excellent, she insisted (and I mean insisted) that I turn the heating on the room, even though I didn't really want it. She is the classic Irish B&B land-lady, wants to know all about you, where your from, who you are, Irish connections, etc, etc. . There was a problem with the remote control for the TV (the previous guest had taken It) the lady of the house couldn't do enough to sort it out, I had to work for the evening on my laptop, there was a knock at the door 10 minutes later by the lady of the house with the authentication key for the wi-fi in the B&B, this proved to be a god-send as the mobile carrier USB modem I have barely had GPRS coverage.;
Great spot if you are in Ennis. I paid €35.00 for B&B. Great value.
I'm not sure if I will be back in Ennis for business again, but if I am I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Right side of the house. And make sure you have a room that you can turn the heating off in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was the first place we stayed upon our arrival in Ireland for our honeymoon. Kathleen was warm and welcoming. We had a comfortable room and a great night's sleep! Breakfast was great, too. A nice traditional Irish Breakfast. Close enough to downtown Ennis that it's walkable. It also had the best shower of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomwesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Kathleen is a warm person and her B&B was really nice.
The bed was unfortunately really bad. We were glad we didn't have to spend more than one night in this bed.
Breakfast was good but it wasn't all that clear what we could have for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Kathleen is a warm and welcoming person who made us feel at home straight away. The property is beautifully maintained, spotless and has all we could need. The breakfast was spot on. Ennis is about the music scene, and Railway View is only a short walk from the centre, and the bars, so no problem with the Guinness. Yet it is quiet. It is also a very short drive from the trunk road. The perfect stop over.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We chose to stay in Ennis because of the proximity to Shannon. Railway View was easy to find, important given our exhausted state. We arrived early, but Kathleen was not there. After a walk, Kathleen drove in right behind us. She was very gracious and promptly showed us our room. The entrance and public area was very clean and this was reflected in the room. The room was a reasonable size. Our only complaint was how long it took the toilet to fill. Kathleen explained this was because this room was at the end of the plumbing. She offered that we were probably tired after our flight said she would be quiet while we napped. We met her young granddaughter who took easily to us. Kathleen gave us suggestions for dining and activities in the area. Breakfast was wonderful. We highly recommend Railway View if you are flying in or out of Shannon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfische1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stay in Ennis for 2 nights with my family of 4. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erno219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Ardilaun Guesthouse
#7 of 33 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway View House

Property: Railway View House
Address: Railway View House Tulla Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on secluded, wooded grounds in the heart of Ennis town just 8 minutes walk to the town centre, Railway View House is a purpose-built bed and breakfast with six guest rooms and quality breakfasts. Hosts Kathleen Cahill and her husband Denis provide pleasing bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, residential setting. Railway View House is easy to reach by car and just a short walk into town. Kathleen is a sweet and kindly lady, pleased to dispense advice. Each of the six guest rooms are decorated in a relaxed, country-cottage motif, with wooden floors. Bedrooms are all en suite with power showers, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a comfortable lounge also at your disposal with a TV and library should you feel the urge to unwind after your day's travel. Just fifteen minutes drive to Shannon Airport. Ennis provides the ideal stopover point on the first or last night in Ireland or as a base to explore all the wonderful sights the west of Ireland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing