We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much better but it is pretty awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
French in Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could be so much better but it is pretty awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Pros: staff is pro, kind and polite. Breakie wasnt bad. Spa facilitty. Swimming pool.
Cons: Rooms are smelly (smoke, dirt, old) and not clean (stained carpets throughout the halls and rooms), i found a child's wool glove in a corner when looking for my sock, it was so dusty and hairy it made me gag... 2.5euro for a swim hat - rip off Ireland when you hold me tight!
Super noisy rooms, back breaker beds

If you have no choice, stay there, it is ok but not great, i am sorry i brought mi girlfriend there

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitingchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel are taken care of immediately and noted so the same does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    310
    164
    120
    88
See reviews for
231
370
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and young baby, room was very small, bathroom was filthy, really dirthy, grout on walls had mould. It looks nothing like on website, well the room we got did not.
We went up to bar to get menu and have a drink, every glass I got was dirty. Food was average.
So dissapointed with this hotel, would NOT recconmend it

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orlamc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel are taken care of immediately and noted so the same does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ennis hotels

La Paz, Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

I was one of hundreds travellers who were diverted to Shannon, Ireland on Dec 18th due to large snow falls. My flight was from Mexico City to Heathrow. We were placed in the Auburn Lodge Hotel in Ennis. This hotel was fantastic. Excellent staff, great food & comfortable rooms. The hotel only knew 1 hour before we arrived that we were arriving. Within 1 hour of getting our rooms we had a first class dinner served. This facility knows the meaning of "Customer Service"

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We flew into Shannon for a weeks stay in Ireland. I originally had planned on staying in Limerick but was a little leery about driving around a large city on my first day on the right hand side of the road. So instead I chose Ennis, an easy 20 minute drive from the airport on a nice motorway. The Auburn offered great rates so I decided to book 3 nights there. Check in was a breeze and the staff were friendly and the room was clean with comfortable beds. Don't expect great views of the countryside because this hotel is located about a mile and a half from the center of Ennis kind of in the suburbs. There's a handy grocery store right next door that is interesting to explore. I never had the breakfast there but did eat in the restaurant a couple of times and found the food to be pretty basic but limited. There's an indoor pool that looked great but I never had the time to enjoy it. The overall advantage of staying here was the location. A quick ride to downtown Ennis and easy access to the Motorway. We did easy trips to Galway, The Cliffs of Moher, Limerick and Cork and a lot of drives out in the country exploring and stopping at little villages to eat and drink. Overall a nice experience with no problems. A word of caution if you plan to drive in Ireland, rent the smallest car you can get away with. Most roads are very narrow with no shoulders to speak of.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowdelays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is an ideal base for visitng Ennis Town and touring the many wonders of County Clare. All are Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Pros: Leisure Center, massage, dinner, waitress service, bar.

Cons: Room is not nice, uncomfortable bed, door was open when we arrived, bathroom is just nasty, mix up with reception resulted in catching someone
entering our room, Problems with water shortage in the area resulted in brown glunge coming out the taps and no water or toilet from 11pm-10am.

Romantic package turned out to be not so romantic.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogstandardtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Sorry but I do not understand the title of the reveiw? It is unfortunate you came across numerous issues with the hotel. Any error or problem which occurs at the hotel, they are taken care of immediately and noted the same does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying in the Auburn Lodge Hotel during the Clare Rally. Angela Lyne the owner of this absolutely wonderful hotel, has every year sponsored the Clare Rally. Well done Angela.
If you have an event you would like to run from this location the quality of organisation from this establishment is second to none.
The hotel itself has been added on to in stages which is evident from the rear outside, but within it you would never know. As it all comes together so well.
The decor and furnishings within the hotel and rooms you will admire, every piece of furniture in the place I wanted to bring home with me ! must bring a bigger suitcase next time
The carvery in the very spacious bar area is very well presented, good food, pleasant staff and very clean enviroment. Plenty of seating within the very spacious lounge which extends through to the bar area.
The ease of checking in here was perfect, the atmosphere and manner of staff likewise was perfect. A home from home atmosphere, very comfortable.
The restaurant area once again very well decorated, clean tidy and a great buffet breakfast.
The rooms are more than adequate and clean. Personally I loved the shampoo's and soaps that they use my hair felt great after washing it, as i would not usually use shampoo's in hotels.
I do not understand how it is only a 3 star rating, As the leisure centre at the Auburn Lodge is fantastic. Just the right size, they have a gym, pool sauna jacuzzi, all nicely fitted within a reasonable area. The chaging rooms were clean and spacious.
All in all a fantastic stay, very family friendly including free access to the local childrens activity play centre Barney's, free vouchers at reception. This is within walking distance about 4 minutes.
The garden area is such a pleasant place to go and sit for a while with a cuppa. Very pretty and peaceful.
I seriously loved this hotel.
An exceptionally large car park which surrounds the hotel, ideally situated on the Galway Road, that you are not actually in the city, but everything is just a couple of minutes away if you require anything.
Great location , Great Hotel, Great stay and seriosly great people.


A peaceful stay, a get-away break
The Auburn Lodge, you're senses will awake
A fine hotel with character and grace
A wonderful stay, you will have in this place.

The people here may sponsor you're race

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonneyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is located just outside of Ennis Town in a quiet and peaceful area. Short walks nearby along with all local amenities, attractions and Golf Courses.
Shannon International Airport 15km.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hi All,

My name is Alan and myself and my now Fiancée stayed in your Hotel on the 10th and 11th of September. I just wanted to say a big thank you to all at your hotel for making our stay so enjoyable. I proposed to my girlfriend on the Friday night and thankfully she said yes J I had let the hotel know my plans and all the staff were great and seemed really interested and excited about it so I just wanted to say a big thank you to you all.

Also I just wanted to pass comment on a particular member of staff Aoife in the restaurant. Aoife was great to us making sure we were ok and we had everything we needed she also genuinely seemed interested and I don’t think she could of done anything more for us during our time with you and I just wanted to let you know what a great girl and a true asset to your hotel she is.

We are planning on coming back in October and bringing our kids with us this time so we are really looking forward to seeing you all again really soon.

Thanks again to everyone J
Alan & Jenn

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rush_alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Any request is never too big to deal with at the Auburn Lodge Hotel - just ask! We are hear to help and make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing