We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel, Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I stayed with my wife for a weekend in July. We booked over the web and got an excellant deal including breakfast. Its a great base to see Clare and the hotel and facilities are great.
The leisure centre is very new and the room we were assigned was very modern. I believe they are renovating the rooms at the moment..
Overall great value for money !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Croker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 983 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed here for a Saturday night (which was actually our second stay, having stayed here about two years ago in November 2007).

For the price, we think this is a very good value lodge. It's not flash - but who would expect that for only £60 a night..? [Sometimes I think other reviewers forget that you get what you pay for and won't get 5* or even 4* for only a 3* price!!] It's perfectly functional and tidy for the price.

Both times our room was clean, basic and comfortable - in fact this time we had a very comfortable bed and lovely soft (German/Swiss/Swedish style) pristine white duvet - which was a surprise for the price.

It's on the main road to Galway, only a quick couple of minutes drive to Ennis town centre.

Breakfast was fine - my husband said the bacon was excellent, there were also hot tomatoes, scambled eggs, black and white pudding, sausages. Also juices, 3 x tinned fruits, and cereals, plus loads of the local Irish brown soda bread (which I love!), toast and jams. Simple, but ample, and good value for the price of the room.

We were very tired after a long day driving around the Dingle Peninsula, so ate in the restaurant - simple food, but tasty . Probably a bit expensive for what it was, but that didn't bother us.

The staff we encountered were very nice. A lovely Asian lady in the restaurant - nothing was a problem and she was so sweet, and a very nice and helpful young girl on reception.

Come on people, it's a small town in down-to-earth, low key Ireland. It's not 5* or even 4* - but it's perfectly functional and simple and very good value for a cheap night in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonKiwi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I went with my sister, but I won't be going back. They fulfilled my request for a room away from hall doors etc as I sleep badly in hotels. The room was very far away but I slept soundly 2 nights in a row which is amazing. The beds were clean and comfortable. The room very simple, relatively clean but outdated. Most staff were friendly and helpful (bar one obnoxious waitress). The free WiFi is also an upside. Location is good. Unfortunately, here is where the compliments end! If you enjoy eating...at all....don't eat here. The food is quite literally horrendous. The breakfast consists of either a fry or cereal. I don't like frys and can't have milk so the 2nd day I was reduced to bringing my own. We stood waiting to be seated for ages, so eventually decided to seat ourselves. Seeing no small table we sat at the end of a table for 6. Immediately said obnoxious waitress came over and barked at us to move to a smaller table. I said we would if there were any free! She then mumbled that if we'd waited she could've cleaned one off but that it was ok, she'd "let" us stay where we were!! How kind of her. The meal that night that came included was beyond a joke. The duck springrolls came out being just 1 springroll with hot salad?? and the stir-fried veg with my incinerated salmon was scant, oily and mush. Said waitress again barked at me that I wouldn't get a side of ordinary veg cause I'd some on my plate already. That being said my sister's chicken was lovely. The couple beside us who weren't residents, ordered off the al a carte menu and didn't eat their pork because both said it was just about to go off. Why they paid for their meal is beyond me. We were at the table for 2 1/2 hours!! Even at check out they couldn't get it right. First they overcharged us, then couldn't figure out how to rectify the problem as we didn't bring out voucher with us. (Even though we booked online with a voucher code that seemed to calculate the price just fine). I'm sorry to say I wouldn't recommend this place at all. I'm embarressed to be Irish when tourists have to stay in hotels like this.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggersBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We travelled with Shearings Coaches and were booked in for 4 nights at this hotel, I had asked for a Disabled ground floor, twin bedded room (as it does not have a lift), I even e.mailed them the week prior to our trip and ther acknowleded my request. On arrival we were allocated a first floor room which meant going up stairs, I declined this one, we were then allocated another at the far end of a very long corridor (we both have walking difficulties). We tried this one, but the key didn't work so had to go back to reception, they gave me another key, I then asked if this was a disabled twin bedded room, the answer was "No", so again we declined and I told them that I had e.mailed them and expected a room suitable for us. We eventually obtained a suitable room on the ground floor (not disabled) but it was very cold and damp. I asked for some sort of heating and more pillows as there were only one to each bed. I was told that they would be sent to our room while we had our evening meal. The meal took two hours, the service was so slow that most of our group were nearly asleep (mostly elderly people). On returning to our room at 9.30pm, we had our pillows but no heating. The next day I was told that the heating would come on at 10.00 pm, but I still asked for an electric fire as my husband has a heart condition and has had a stroke and feels the cold and if he starts to shiver he could become very ill. Again our meal took over two hours and still no heating. I went to the reception and was told that a fire would be delivered in five minutes, this was now 9.45 pm. At 10.00pm I again went to reception to ask for heating and found they had a change over and knew nothing about my request, they said that the heating should come on if I turned it on at the radiator, I said I had tried that but couldn't move the taps, I was then told a heater would be sent to me within a few minutes, by 10.15pm still no heating and it was very cold and damp so again back to the reception (my husband had got into bed to try to get warm), they told me they were trying to find a heater for me, I said I would wait there for it. The manager then said that one had been found and would be delivered immediately. I returned to the room and within five minutes a heater arrived with the manager who said that the heating should be on, I told her to try it but she couldn't turn the taps on either, but at least by 10.30pm we had a bit of heating. The next day we spoke to the owner about our problems and also about the bad service in the dining room, she asked if the restaurant manager had been overseeing the service to which we said "No, we have only seen the three girls trying to serve 46 people", she told us she would look into it. That evening we had our meal with the best service we had seen, it was all over within a hour and a half, the next evening we were back to waiting again for two hours. In our room, the handle on the toilet broke so we were unable to flush it, I reported this to the reception and was told that the maintenance man would be with us within five minutes, this was at 6.00pm. We had to use a bucket of water to flush the toilet...the next morning we were leaving the hotel to start our journey home and we never did see the maintenance man. This was the worse hotel we have ever stayed at and would not recommend it for any group travel or for any lenght of time. There is no bus service to get you into the town of Ennis so taxis are your only choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Having stayed in more than 100 Hotels worldwide and ca. 10 different Hotels in Ireland, by far this has been the WORST Hotel I have ever been to. The room was okayish but dirty. One of the pillows had blood stains on it! I kid you not!! The bathroom had broken lights and was not cleaned. There was no soap by the sink or for the shower and it was not even refilled the next day. The furniture was absolutely horrible in all of the Hotel. But what has actually made this stay there absolutely shocking is its incredible rude staff. Asking simple and fair enough questions like about the opening times of the restaurant were answered in a manner of such annoyance that confused myself about what I had actually just asked. Even though we got our room at a special offer to include one evening dinner at a choice of a night, we actually prefered not to avail of it, as we really enjoyed being away from the Hotel much more than being inside. The staff, the staff.. horribly trained people. I wonder if they ever got trained at all. I can actually not even name one single good thing about our stay with this hotel, not one.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mocka4shocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The room is fine, no complaines. But the housekeeper was ridiculous. We only stayed one night, check out time is moon, but the housekeeper came to wake us up at pass 9am, and came back 2 or 3 times after. We were checking out by 12pm, why the hell we need housekeeping???!!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kittycat275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

If you like being surrounded by furniture that looks familiar, then this is the place for you. By 'familiar' I mean furniure that you put into a skip outside your front door 25 years ago, It is a dump. Quite honestly, you would be better off sleeping in the car. Keep driving, and you'll get much better value elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
482 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
842 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $57 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing