We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked here for a night for the August bank holiday weekend to go away and chill out. Got a pretty average price so took it. When we arrived the reception was lovely and the staff were very friendly. So far so good. However when we went to our room I was gobsmacked. Old, OLD furniture, single glazed wooden window, electrical conduit running up the wall and a bathroom from the 70s. It felt like a prison cell. I was ready to get back in the car and go home again. We went back to reception where we explained that the room was not acceptable and we were not staying in it. They gave us a second room, which was slightly more modern, however again the bathroom was vile and the bathtub was actually yellow! I felt so let down, our relaxing romantic night away was ruined. Receptionist called to see if this room suited us and we told her no again. She moved some things around and we finally got a really lovely room at the door to the leisure centre and enjoyed the rest of our stay.
The food and staff were absolutely amazing and couldn't have been nicer, however due to the rooms there is no way I would go back. Hotel is in dire need of renovation.

Room Tip: Room 505 beside the entrance to the leisure centre was beautiful, spacious and modern.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InstaDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 965 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff at Auburn Lodge were brash and unhelpful. The main receptionist was exceedingly unpleasant to deal with. A graduation party was being hosted during our one night stay. Kids running around screaming drunk all night provided for a poor stay. The morning continental breakfast was a hectic rush. Loads of people streaming about. The food was not great either for the price. The waitstaff at the restaurant was unpleasant and very rushing to the dinners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nualaloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at Auburn Lodge for the last night of our Ireland vacation. I booked this hotel because it was in a town near Shannon airport so we wouldn't have a far drive in the morning for our flight. The photos looked great, but I should have paid more attention to the reviews before booking my room. I originally booked three nights, but when I had a change in plans, they were very accommodating with changing my booking to just one night. However, I booked breakfast with my original reservation, and the day we checked in we realized we couldn't make breakfast because our flight was earlier than they started serving. I was unable to have the charges removed from my cost even though we obviously didn't stay for breakfast. All they provided was a 15 Euro discount when it cost 30. In addition, there was NO front desk staff when we went to check out at 7:00 AM, there was only a note on a phone saying to "dial 0 for service". When I did so, there was no answer. Then when someone did finally get there after about 5 minutes of waiting, they were just getting into work for the morning and there was no way for them to provide me with a receipt; they had to email it to me. The room was decent, however, as several reviews here on Trip Advisor mention, it appeared the room numbers in the 500's were newer and probably nicer than what we had. Those are the rooms that are near the spa and pool. The pool was nice, my daughter enjoyed swimming very much and the pub food was good. I have no complaints on the food. Overall, it was nice, but very average and a little disappointing after spending a few nights in some fabulous B&B's throughout Ireland up to that point. I would probably choose a different hotel if staying in Ennis.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but older. Rooms in the 500 number range are newer and near the spa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joy42001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to a wedding here, drinks reception staff weren't any bit friendly. Asked what was in the punch and she barely answered me ( was pregnant so needed to know if it had alcohol). Meal was cold, soup was hottest course. Service for dinner very bad and unorganized, asked for more bread with soup our request was ignored by first waitress and 2 nd one told us they had no more left! Got main meal which was cold but lucky my salmon was cooked not like my friends lamb which was raw. . Had our dinner ate by time we got mash and veg. Desert was thrown in a bowl, unprofessional. Got tea but no teaspoon, asked waitress but didn't get one. Table of 10 of us all agreed was worst meal we ever had at a wedding. Our room seemed like it was miles away from reception. Basic and old fashioned. Stains on carpets, walls and curtains. Wasn't overly clean especially the bathroom. Could hear everything of other guests in other rooms. We skipped breakfast! Thought it was safer. Definitely won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

wow wow wow stayed in hotel for three wonderful nights from 26th to 29th of July, we were met by a lovely and friendly receptionist mairead, 10 out of 10 for facilities, bar service , food excellent huge portions, friendly staff leisure center excellent 10, restaurant excellent 10, friendly welcoming staff through out the hotel special thanks to noel, Brian from the bar, and thanks to all staff in restaurant especially Edna. WE WILL BE BACK JIM /MARGARET WEXFORD

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are fine
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed two nights with my son and partner on arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist. We were given very clear times as to when the 8yr old could use the pool and the times he was allowed in the bar.The room was very clean and the beds were really comfortable.
The staff in the bar were the most helpful crew I have ever dealt with they gave us anything we asked for with no fuss whats so ever including going 2 the shop to buy Malibu !!! The food was really keenly priced big portions and really nice.. The breakfast was well above average and no end to the amount you could eat and a massive choice of food. I asked for a iron and it was at my room in less than 5 minuites I have to say it was the most relaxing hotel I have ever stayed in I just loved it from start to finish. All in all it is a very friendly and homely ran hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a terrible hotel. Filthy filthy dirty. The bar smelled rotten. Got bar food, we had to return brown bread as it was blue mouldy and hairy along the crust. The staff were trying their best but it was the most dreadful place I have ever stayed. Never again. I still can't believe how dirty the place is.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $67 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing