We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left alot to be desired!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Left alot to be desired!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from New Years Eve. On check-in we were given room 235 which was tiny and we felt claustrophobic as soon as we walked in. Asked for an upgrade but no double rooms were available so we were moved to what I assume was a family room (room 116). Heating didn't work till we were checking out this morning, room wasn't serviced the first day and we had to call for replacement toiletries. The WIFI didn't work and the staff were less than helpful. I had an important document that needed to be sent on the 1st which I couldn't send. Large crack across the ceiling. Single glazed windows with the worst condensation I've ever seen, mouldy too. Mould on the bathroom ceiling and tiles, dirty shower head and unsteady toilet. Wouldn't recommend this hotel and definitely wouldn't go back. They did however take €24 off the overall cost of the room as compensation. Restaurant food was lovely and my partner only had good things to say about the leisure centre which I did not visit myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Again, It is unfortunate you came across numerous issues with the hotel. Management have since implemented further staff training for all departments to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. The outside company who manage the WIFI on behalf of the Auburn have since recitfied the WIFI breakdown. Again, it was great to hear your enjoyment of the Food and the Leisure Centre on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    310
    164
    120
    88
See reviews for
231
370
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

First of all, the good bits. The Leisure Centre is excellent - great pool, hot tub etc Ideal for families who are going to get good use out of such a facility. Food in the restaurant was lovely, although the atmosphere was a bit eery. Staff were, for the most part, very helpful and pleasant to deal with on a one-to-one basis. They were happy to switch our room on arrival as the first one we were offered was cramped and right beside the stairs. The only available alternative, which we accepted, was better, but not much. Decor was dated and scruffy. The single-glazed window had a permanent layer of condensation and a decaying frame that had seen better days. There was a very visible crack running along the ceiling. TV had no remote. Only two available power-points in the room. The bathroom: creaking toilet seat, dirty tiling and ancient, filthy shower head. Corridor outside was dank, gloomy and cold - there is a significant drop in the maintenance and condition of the place once you walk from the reception and lobby area to the accommodation block beyond. Heating worked sporadically: when we returned on our second day the room was freezing and had not been serviced. To be fair to the staff, they apologized and quickly provided us with an electric heater and fresh towels, soap etc. Free Wi-Fi, which we took to be a big selling point when we booked, was down until the day of our departure, which we found particularly frustrating. Overall, there seemed to be a generally lax "sure it'll do" vibe about the place, with the attention-to-detail that you should come to expect of any decent hotel lacking throughout. The girl at reception did offer us a discount on our bill when we reported some issues when checking out.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here I suggest paying a little extra for a "superior" room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is very disappointing to hear your comments. Management have since implemented further training for all staff to improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel. WIFI is provided throughout the entire hotel by an outside company who had been contacted and have now recetified the problem with the WIFI breakdown. I was delighted to read about your enjoyment of both the Leisure Centre and the Food in the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did not check TripAdvisor before booking...First of all, we faced extremely rude reservations department. We got non smoking room smelling very badly and not clean at all. I found somebody's hair in my daughter's bed and baby's cot looked like was never cleaned, too.
So we spent most of the time in their bright, nice and clean(!) spa.Very kind breakfast service. Unfortunately is not enough. We will not come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oollaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is unfortunate you came across numerous issues with the hotel. Management have since implemented further training for all Housekeeping Staff to ensure the same does not reoccur. We would like to thank you for informing us of your experience which will help us to improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed with 2 children on October Bank Holiday Weekend, after booking a double room and then needing a family room I found the Staff extremely helpful in accommodating us even though the hotel was fully booked. Rooms are in need of a good make over and a long walk to most rooms was a dread especially with kiddies as always forgetting something! It was advertising as walking distance to town but no way would you do the walk under 25 mins!
The Kiddies club staff were fab and took them for their tea and evening entertainment which gave us a lovely break. Overall a nice stay but could just do with a little modernisation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your review. The Auburn Lodge Hotel has full Leisure facilities, Car Parking on site, WIFI throughout the entire hotel, Conference and Wedding Suites along with other Meeting Rooms. All clients and specific requirements are catered for. Located 3km outside Ennis Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in early December. This hotel which is located outside Ennis has good sized spotlessly clean rooms. The Bar and Restaurant food was very good. Breakfast was self service from a buffet. The choice was good but a self service bar can't compete with food freshly cooked to order, especially when it comes to scrambled eggs! This however is a minor quibble. There is a very nice leisure centre attached to the hotel and the pool was very quiet on the morning I swam there.The staff were courteous and friendly although service was a little slow at times.The hotel is located just a bit too far out of Ennis town to be a comfortable walk, but even so I would definelty stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for the review. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is located just outside of Ennis Town in a quiet and peaceful area. Short walks nearby along with all local amenities, attractions and Golf Courses. We offer a continental menu with a traditional Irish flair. The Oyster Restaurant always has the freshest of local ingredients, the finest of wines and the friendliest of service to create an elegant dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a B&B basis. There was no lift, I have trouble getting up stairs so had a bit of a problem when I discovered we'd been allocated a room upstairs. It was no problem to the very friendly and efficient receptionist who immediately set about finding us a room on the ground floor while we sat with a cuppa. Such a lot of character in this hotel and such a welcoming feeling with sitting areas with open fires and comfortable chairs and settees. Our room was lovely and we were happy to find free wifi throughout. We shared a beautiful lamb dinner in the bar carvery and listened to the live music that evening. Very relaxing. The breakfast was equally as good and satisfying. It seems to be a very popular hotel (always a good sign) as families were staying there. We didn't use the leisure centre as our time was taken up visiting family. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Remember there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from our clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel endeavours to make all customers to have an enjoyable stay. If you have any requirement, please ask in advance to avoid any discomfort on your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very clean accommodation but very basic rooms. We decided we weren't very happy with the room as we needed more space as we had a toddler with us. I rand and they said they had no more 'suites' left but to ring again in the morning so this was fine. We were kept awake during the night by paper thing walls and what i think was a stags party above us. We rang a few few times to complain as it had our 2 year old awake. In fairness they fixed the problem immediately. The next morning they upgraded us to a suite with no extra charge due to the awful night we had. The upgraded room was perfect. To me it wasn't really a suite but just a more modern room. Kind of what i was expecting in the beginning. The breakfast was everything you needed. Staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The leisure area was great for the kids. There is also a lovely spa area but i didn't avail of this. I would definitely stay here again but i would specify that i would like a 'suite' rather than the standard rooms as they are in serious need of attention! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muffles6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for the review. The Auburn Lodge Hotel is constantly improving the quality and service provided in all areas. Any request is never too big to deal with at the Auburn Lodge Hotel - just ask! We are hear to help and make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing