We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious but dated!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
South Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spacious but dated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was a member of a tour and unfortunately this was rated in the bottom third of the hotels we stayed at. It was very spacious (7 metres x 4 metres) but the decor and furniture was quite dated which was disappointing. Lots and lots of rooms so the place was a bit of a maze. Nevertheless the food at breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Geremiahc

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. In terms of the hotel being dated I will bring your feedback to the directors who are currently putting in place a plan to improve / modernise the rooms.
I'm delighted you enjoyed our breakfast and this is something that we pride ourselves in, offering guests a good hearty traditional Irish breakfast.

Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    304
    159
    119
    86
See reviews for
225
362
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Four of uswent to this Hotel 2 from Dublin, 1 from Austeralia and 1 from Germany. we all said we would not go there again as service was very poor at times. breakfast was cold and service was very bad. The staff kept forgetting to bring orders and thats when you could find staff. also the hotel book in the room said entertainment most but we atayed 3 nights and there was none. we asked staff and was told there was some on friday night so we stayed in but there was only the tv in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for 1 near the front as the back rooms can be a long walk on the and a lot of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear justmeDublin_Ireland

Thank you for your review and I appreciate the feedback in order to improve our services to our guests. I apologise that you found your breakfast to be cold and service poor and I have spoken to the respective department in order to ensure this doesn't happen again.
With regards to entertainment in the hotel, during the summer the hotel does offer entertainment on a regular basis. However, out of season we would provide entertainment on Saturday nights. During busy times or fesitivals the hotel also offers entertainment on other days and I apologise that you didn't experience this during your stay.

Once again my apologies about your disappointing stay in the Auburn Lodge Hotel. With your feedback I will ensure that we will move this forward as a team to ensure we offer a better service to future guests.

Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Toured Ireland September 2012.
Stayed in 7 different hotels around the island.
This was the worst one by far.
Non smoking room smelled... I am not sure of what.
Musty, smoke, body odour??
Black mould on bathroom ceiling
Beds hard and uncomfortable.
Hair dryer did not work properly
Terrible soap/shampoo
Just overall not a good place.
I see it is ranked #3 of 9 in Ennis.
I shudder to think of how bad the other 2 are.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you sign up for it. You may go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear HeatherT40

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your trip around Ireland. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us in the Auburn Lodge Hotel.

All our rooms in the hotel are non smoking however it is extremely difficult to control when people do decide to smoke in the rooms. We have since implemented a system whereby guests are charged if they smoke in their rooms to cover the cost of the hotel to try and get the room to its original smoke free state.
The mould on the bathroom ceiling has been rectified by our maintenance department. The hairdryers that we have in the hotel are of hotel standard. They are not as powerful as a home hairdryer but all our hairdryers are checked on a monthly basis to ensure they are in working order.

The Auburn Lodge Hotel does strive to ensure that all its customers leave having had a great experience and I apologise that you did not experience this.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel looks great and has a great atmosphere. The staff re generally very helpful when you can get hold of them, it seems that the bar must be a lot busier than you realise as it can be difficult to get your order in (although, to be honest it didn't look that busy to me). The rooms are good but the bathroom in mine was very dated (wall tiles that were out of style in the 1970's) and moldy. There is wi-fi connection throughout the hotel but it is very poor, I tried to use Skype to call home but had to give up it was so bad.
The food is very good with good sized portions but the range of options is very small.
Be aware that the walls between the rooms can sometimes seem very thin and noise can pass through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kev W

Thank you for your review. Your comments are really appreciated and help us to ensure that we can improve our services to our customers on an ongoing basis.

The mould you had found in your bathroom has since been rectified by our maintenance team. Regarding the WIFI connection in the hotel, we do have broadband for everyone however when the hotel is full and everyone is downloading information from the web it does slow down the broadband and unfortunately at this time we do not have access to fibre optic cables to increase the speed of our broadband connection.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Auburn Lodge.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Agggh! What an old smelly dump. Walls are so ridiculously thin I had to change room to avoid a laughing hag next door at 3am. Place looks like it should be haunted. Never again. So sorry I didn't stay at a different hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear endas

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in the Auburn Lodge. Unfortunately I wasn't able to discuss your stay with you as your late arrival and early departure prohibited this and we would have tried our utmost to ensure you had a comfortable stay with us. Once again I apologise about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my sister had a 2 night midweek break in the Auburn Lodge, we found the staff really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh and lots to choose from. The room was clean and tidy and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Iosa

Thank you for great review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do like our Facebook page for more exclusive offers should you return to Ennis.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. To be honest after the first time I didn’t think I would be back. However the second stay was a much better experience. This hotel is not perfect however it is very reasonably priced, good location easy to find, and clean room. We checked into the hotel very quickly with no wait and were directed to our room. Our room was spacious and clean and I had no complaints. Breakfast was included in our package and we found the food to be good. They brought tea and toast to table and there is a choice of fruit, cereal, bread and cooked breakfast buffet. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel on this occasion however we did eat on our previous stay and would eat here again. The staff at the hotel are friendly both check in and check out which were both quick and easy. Louise at reception was especially helpful with our queries about Ennis. Overall we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear pinkgirl83

Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be most appreciative.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing