We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel .....Pity about Front Of House!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is well kept and clean rooms could do with a touch up. .Found the food nice and good portions.Very friendly Staff in bar/Rest.
My only problem was the receptionist who was too busy on the phone to her babysitter to take notice of the customers standing in front of her!!!!!!! i know where I work personal calls are not allowed and most certainly when a customer is front of you DEAL with them.Management obivously need to train their front of house a little better!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Michelle D
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the receptionist on the phone to the babysitter I wish to clarify that she was talking to the hotel babysitter who we had used throughout the summer for our kids camp. She was asked to come back as a favour as we had several requests from guests who were looking for her to entertain their children.
We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 965 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights in August. Just outside ennis five minute drive. Bar food was very good; I enjoyed it more than the food in the restaurant. We didn't use the leisure centre but was nice to have the option there. Would stay again and recommend good value and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frjackhackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear frjackhackett
Thank you for your great review and I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come back and visit us soon.
Kind regards
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this hotel on a special offer and it was handy for visiting Ennis Town also when we were there we visited The Cliffs of Moher which were about 40 minutes drive away.
Staff were very friendly and the food was lovely rooms were basic but clean

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIck344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mick344
Thank you for your lovely review and we appreciate the positive feedback. We hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

just back from a 2 night break in the auburn lodge hotel i travelled with my husband and 3 kids 6, 5, 1. upon arrival receptionist was lovely very helpful as our room was not ready we ate in the bar food was OK but once again staff lovely. when our room was ready i was very dissapointed as it did not look any thing like rooms on website. it had been cleaned but was very run down and a bit gruby from wear and tear and beds need to be pulled out and hoovered behind. bathroom was very dated and badly in need of a revamp (bit like the hotel in general) shower/bath were stained yellow and shower curtain was filthy!!!!! and two half used shampoo/ shower gels were left for us to finish off!!!!!! we booked a family room but we were on top of each other especially as we had a travel cot in the room too. the rooms were very noisey as well we were next to a staircase and between 2 hall doors which were in constant use all through day and night walls were paper thin i could hear the toilet been flushed and the hairdryer going next door!! we ate in the bar again that night food was terrible wont even get into it and not cheap considering what i had been served up!!!!. however hotel is in a brilliant location for visiting attractions 40 min drive to cliffs of moher bunratty castle is only 20min and a must when visiting!.just looking at other reviews to check it was the same hotel there must be sections of the hotel done up and others not only way i can explain it . breakfast was ok but i have had alot worse!! over all cant say enough for the staff but i wont be visiting the hotel again i expect more for money paid and have stayed in much much better accom for the same or less!!!!'

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caz940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear caz940
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. I apologise about the lack of care and attention you had experienced while staying in the Auburn Lodge Hotel. We are currently investigating all the issues you had with the hotel particularly the bedrooms and will ensure that these issues are rectified immediately.
Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with our two children,aged 2 and 5 years.On check in we were told about the kids club,which would have been handy if only our youngest was older as its for kids aged 4plus.However we were never told about the voucher available for the barneyz club down the road,only by chance did we see a A4 page about it which was stuck up on some pillar on the way back from the rooms.Too late though as we saw it the day after we went to the club! :(
Breakfast was ok,a bit on the cold side each morning.We asked for more tea and toast and we got a look from the waitress each morning as if to say how dare you ask!Bedroom was ok a bit dated,but the decor in the bathroom must be the worst I have ever seen,same as the tiles in the picture shown on this website,terrible brown tiles,that would make you want to get sick!The side panel on the bath was cracked.The shower if you stood under a watering can there would be more pressure from it.Furniture in the bedroom fairly scratched.But I must say both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean.The rubbish bin in the bedroom was never emptied during our stay,even though it was overflowing with rubbish from day 1.We went to the bar on night 2 to get a meal instead of driving into Ennis.Only that we were both so tired,we would have upped and left.We were waiting about 10 mins before we got menus,and it was only as a result of my husband calling the manager (of the bar I think)to draw his attention.Otherwise he would have happily walked on past us again.After finally getting our menus,the waitress who took our order,I would only put washing cars as she has no manner for dealing with the public.I must say the food tasted really nice,and we really wanted dessert but to be honest if we were to stay to order that we would be there for the night waiting to be served,so we finished up our main courses and paid the bill and left.We went to the shop down the road and got some ben and jerrys ice cream!The kids had a ball in the swimming pool,the best part of this hotel....Only for Ennis and the surrounding areas being of such interest and enjoyment and the fact we had two kids,we would have left this hotel after the first night.The reception area,bar and lobby give a great impression of this hotel that its really nice and modern but the rooms are a complete let down.Where are the rooms that you see on the website and the broschure??All staff here would want to go a serious customer service course.Won't be staying here again...........:(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear m0r1

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback in order to improve our services. I am disappointed to see that your stay didn't meet up to expectations. We are continually upgrading our facilities particularly our bedrooms and currently have plans in place to improve these over the coming the months. With regards to the water pressure in the bedrooms I apologise for this but unfortunately when the hotel is full and everyone takes a shower at more or less the same time it does put severe pressure on our water pressure. This is an issue that we are trying to rectify.
The service you received in the bar is not the norm and again this something I have taken up with the waitresses. We have put in place over the coming months customer service training to ensure our team offer friendly hospitable service.
Once again I would like to thank you for your review and we will endeavour to improve our services as much as possible.
Sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night with our two children and used the kidz camp. The girls had a ball and want to go back and live there. We had a lovely meal with with relaxed drink. Rooms were nice and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and most enjoyable and the pool was great. Would recommend it to others with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in the Auburn Lodge. Our kids camp was very popular over the summer and we will continue this for all key holiday periods. Please remember to check out our website for ongoing offers and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My father and I stayed for two nights in the Auburn Lodge Hotel in May 2012 during a buisness trip. The hotel carpark had ample parking for cars and indeed buses which is a big plus. The rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff were really informative nice people. We had an evening meal on the first night and the food was very nice and plenty on the plate too! The breakfast was very good as well and overall I have to say we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will return to the Auburn Lodge Hotel the next time I visit Ennis Co. Clare.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your praise to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Auburn Lodge in the near future.

Sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
2.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $67 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing