We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveler rating
268
361
207
144
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
361
207
144
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrebar staffboth nightsfriendly receptionistbit datedfood was lovelyennis townweekend breakboth morningsan evening meallovely hotelstaff were lovelycouldn't do enoughold stylethe pubyogurtedna
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Really friendly staff! I had bar food (fish cakes) which were great, and an excellent breakfast especially considering I am a vegetarian. Unfortunately the room let the hotel down, it was very dated, and was not in keeping with the rest of the hotel which was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed in the Auburn Lodge recently. The hotel was very busy with a wedding and events and gave a nice impression when you walked in. However when you walk down the corridor and to your room its a different impression you get - the lobby and reception are done up and lovely and the bedrooms give the impression of what the hotel used to look like. Room was dated and definitely not 3 star.
We had food in the bar which was ok. If we had a better room this hotel would actually be quite a nice place especially to explore the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms - we only found out they had them after we stayed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snudge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

i've stayed in few hotels and this was by far the worst staff were not friendly except girl on reception breakfast was the worst i've had we had an evening meal included in our package which we had to eat in the bar as the restaurant was closed food that had been microwaved and tasteless we were going to pack up straight away and drive 3 hours home but said why should we lose out will never be going back here

Room Tip: book another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaithin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff were helpful. Service was good. Craic in the bar was great.

Had dinner there first night Food was ok, needs a little imigination.

Breakfast was filling but I would have preferred a lighter option the second morning.

The bedroom was a good distance from the front of the place, but close to leisure centre. Enjoyed the swim. The room was a bit dated. Clean but rough around the edges.

I met the new manager and she was very interested in hearing what I thought. Promised her a response here but delayed until now.

Will be heading back again as its well located for my business.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMacGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for comments and appreciate the feedback which helps us improve our service and quality. Regarding your comment on the food in the hotel, we are in the process of implementing new menus which will hopefully inspire our guests to enjoy their stay with us and taste our new menus. Please feel free to keep up to date with our changes by filling in the newsletter on our website.
Sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Check In:
Found Shona to be friendly and welcoming , we recieved a warm welcome and were impressed with her prompt and efficient manner, this girls professionalism is lost on the establishment

Room 1:
Covered in a solid layer of dust, on the carpet, surfaces, TV, & bed linen. Also the toilet was dirty ( skid marks )
we deliberated whether to just check out and go but we had travelled a long distance and hadn't the get up n go left in us
We requested a new room and Shona very efficiently switched us to another room that was cleaner at least

Room 2: OK

Dining:

As part of our package the evening meal was included and we found the menu limited and uninspired
Starters; Soup was rubbish ( Ive eaten much better at truck stops ) and the Ceasar Salad was stale, chicken was hard & dried out, almost positive it was rerun chicken and then drowned in dressing to try compensate.
Mains: Steak & Salmon were just OK... no better no worse
Dessert: not as described , stale and dried out!
Dining Room Service: staff were under pressure in an adjacent dining room with a large bus group, and so the service we recieved was distracted and lacking, wrong wine and wrong desserts arrived. I dont blame the staff, they were under pressure and under staffed on top of trying to cover two seperate rooms and were unavailable for long periods when we required service! Management need to realise it not a cattle mart canteen they are running .... get a better menu and get rid of the prison food chef !

Breakfast: SO BAD WE CHECKED OUT STRAIGHT AFTER, cutting our stay short by 2 days.
depressing room, depressing food, staff sucked!, and the worst scrambled ( I think thats what it was ) that I've ever seen in my life

Overall it felt like a tour bus stop hotel, thats herds them in every evening , feeds them and herds them back onto the bus the next morning ..... roll on next bus !

wouldnt stay here again if it was free!!

Room Tip: Drive past quickly and stay in a different hotel!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dani071980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandICH, General Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your stay with us was disappointing. Regarding your bedroom not being cleaned, I apologise sincerely for this. This is not our standard and a room that shouldn't have been marked clean on our system was marked clean. This has since been rectified by housekeeping.
With regards to your experience in the restaurant in terms of the service and food again this is not the standard in the hotel. All our food is prepared freshly on a daily basis. I have spoken to the chef about our menus and we are currently assessing new dishes and working with consultant chefs to ensure we offer our guests a great food experience.
Again I apologise that you did not experience our hospitality and service that is expected and I would like to invite you back to perhaps give us another chance.
Yours sincerely
Yolande Nieman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews