We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest B&B we stayed with in Ireland”
Review of Grey Gables B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gables B & B
Ranked #3 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The nicest B&B we stayed with in Ireland”
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Ennis was a wonderful ending to our 10 trip to Ireland. When using Shannon Airport this is the perfect location, just 20-25 min from the airport. Grey Gables was a fabulous find! The hostess was accommodating for our teenage sons and willingly provided a separate room for them at a reduced rate! The rooms (#1 and #6) were beautiful, nicely appointed and incredibly clean. The hard wood floors throughout the home are beautiful and added to the homes charm. Although the shower did not provide soap it was available at the sink. The bathrooms were modern and very clean. The wheelchair accessibility of room/bathroom #1 was excellent and provided 2 single beds. The breakfast room was absolutely beautiful with table settings, napkins, etc matching the colorful walls. Wonderful fruit bowl, cereals and full Irish breakfast was excellent!! Free internet access is available in the front sitting room which was very comfortable. This is a wonderful B&B and we will return!! Thanks so much for a wonderful last night in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lv2CSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    82
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
68
140
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

After issues with reservations at two other places near Ennis, we ended up at Grey Gables. I wish I'd booked them from the start! Mary was very nice and gave us a private room at the top of the stairs after finding out we'd just arrived in the country and were tired. Breakfast was good. Unlike some other B&Bs we stayed at, we actually got to meet people at breakfast, which was fun. The room was lovely. The location was excellent as we could easily walk to restaurants and such in Ennis. One warning--they don't take credit here, so have cash. That discouraged me at first since we were flying in on a Sunday and not sure we could get money changed, but ATMs are easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenifyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Mary, the Inn Keeper, makes you feel extremely welcome and often has other guests at breakfast from all over the globe. Great Irish and Continental breakfasts in a glorious windowed room. With a beautifull Cathedrall just 2 blocks away and numerous musical Pubs and shops less than a 5 minute walk away, Grey Gables is a perfect setting to get to know a typical small town in South West Ireland. A great starting location after your long flight into Shannon and then explore the Burren, the Ring of Kerry or the scenic Shannon River, the largest in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

The map does not make this clear, but this B&B is about a two minute walk from the heart of Ennis, which has almost no parking. Grey Gables does have parking, although it's a bit tricky for an American used to larger parking spots and right-hand side driving. The train/bus station is also just two minutes walk away. I would stay here for convenience alone, but, in addition, the rooms are comfortable and Mary is nice. The breakfast was terrific, with very good brown bread (which can sometimes be dry). Beds were really comfortable, with nice duvets. We had two rooms -- one was smallish with a large bathroom, and the other was largish with a small bathroom.

Ennis is a nice location for the Cliffs of Moher (30 minute drive) and The Burren (view on the return from the Cliffs). Many of the bars have traditional music at night, although this seems to be mostly enjoyed by the tourists. There is a laundry on Abbey street which will do a load of wash and dry for 8 euro. Shannon airport is about 30 minutes drive as well, so this is a good spot if you are flying out of Shannon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EconProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The B&B was clean, but the hardwood floors were noisy. We heard every person walk down the hall as they came in for the evening. If they were in an upstairs room, that was a noisy climb, too. However, the town is sweet and the location is good. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This is a good bed and breakfast with a fine breakfast and a very helpful and charming hostess. Breakfast was fine.
It is not a small country bed and breakfast.
It is close to the public transit station and to the shops and pubs.
The hostess suggested good restaurants and venues for Irish music in walking distance, and a organized a tour to the Burren for us with a local taxi driver.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rms68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This b&b is in an excellent location close to town, and the breakfast was great. However, the room I got was small, bathroom was tiny, and my biggest complaint was the water for showers -- tepid at best, truly lukewarm. It was only average at best.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOJOBO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ennis hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables B & B

Property: Grey Gables B & B
Address: Grey Gables Station Road, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grey Gables B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gables Hotel Ennis
Grey Gables Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing